Aquatic Plant Forum banner

Aquascaper in Focus: Jason Baliban

15K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  jciotti 
#1 · (Edited)
Our featured member this month is Jason Baliban. Jason has been an active promoter of the aquascaping hobby. He was recently featured as one of the Iron Aquascapers at the AGA Convention this past November, 2008. He is also noted in AquaJorunal #159.

photo by John Dinh

Tell us a little about yourself.

I live just outside of Philadelphia (Flyers Country!!). I've lived in the Philadelphia area for the majority of my life, aside from a 4-year time period where I lived in south FL. I am married and we support two lovely cats, Satch and Zoe. I have quite a few hobbies, my wife might say too many. I have been playing guitar for 16 years. I collect and smoke cigars. I dabble in photography, carpentry, and audio engineering. I make my living working as a computer programmer for a medical company and for my own company www.tekdoodle.com.

Jam session

How did you get into aquariums, and planted aquaria in particular?

I got my first aquarium for my 3rd birthday. It was a 10 gallon tank with blue gravel and a sweet bubble filter in the shape of a boat with a cannon. Throughout most of my life, I have had aquariums in one form or another. When I was living in FL, aquatic plants were much more available in LFS's. One day, I finally bit the bullet and bought some at the store. I knew close to nothing about plants, so they didn't do very well. After the plants died, I started to do some research on the internet. I quickly found some pictures of successful planted aquariums. I had never seen anything like them before, especially the Amano stuff. At that point, it was my goal to create something like that for myself. Unfortunately at that time, I was moving back to PA, and I wouldn't set up a real planted tank for another 3 years.

"Meander"