Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Substrates « Previous Product 

CaribSea Eco-Complete™ Planted Aquarium Substrate
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 35104 Fri December 13, 1901
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $18.20 8.7


EcoComplete.jpg caribsea_planted_ecocomplete.jpg caribsea_bimodal.gif


Description: CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate: Contains Iron, Calcium, Magnesium, Potassium, Sulfer plus over 25 other elements to nourish your aquatic plants. Caribsea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate contains all the mineral nutrients needed for luxuriant aquatic plant growth without nuisance algae! The Caribsea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate is Iron rich which eliminates the need for laterite and is also Nitrate and carbonate free which will not increase pH or carbonate hardness. There is no artificial dye, paint or chemical coating because it's real!

The CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate also contains live Heterotrophic Bacteria to rapidly convert fish waste into natural food for your aquatic plants. The Caribsea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate also creates a natural biological balance which makes cycling in a new aquarium faster and safer. With it's unsurpassed MacroPorosity for healthy roots and bacterial efficieny - you would have to buy 4 bags of ordinary gravel to equal the surface are of this one bag of Caribsea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate!

Sizes: 20 lbs


Author
Post A Reply 
Rebel1970
Junior Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 8
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.99 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Will be first time to use it
Cons: NONE yet

I just ordered 4 bags of eco complete from Petco. Online special, $15.99 per bag, FREE shipping. Works for me!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jgmbosnia1
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: Central Coast Ca.
Posts: 9
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Holds plants well...doesn't cloud the water.
Cons: Compacts....not friendly to some fish.

I have had this stuff for the past year. It has been pretty good to my plants. I have it in a 90 and a 20l. I highly recommend that you keep fish with barbels away from this product. I tried Corey cats when the tank was a few months old.....all ten died. The sharp edges on the substrate cut all of their barbels off. Wait for a PETCO sale with free shipping.....otherwise most companies will charge you extra for the heavier boxes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
John P.
Member of SCAPE


Registered: November 2004
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Posts: 1013
Review Date: Sat January 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Plants Grow Well, Reasonably Priced
Cons: I Believe EC Leaks Nutrients Into Water Column

GENERALLY:
I\'ve been reasonably happy with EcoComplete in my planted tank.

PROs:
-I\'m fond of darker substrates aesthetically, and so are many fish
-Holds roots well when planting (Hairgrass, Glosso, HC, etc.)
-Plants grow well
-Reasonable value

CONs:
-Though I have no tangible proof, I believe EC leaks nutrients into the water column (not a huge problem for me, however, and one that isn\'t unique to EC as far as I can tell)
-Wouldn\'t be suprised if all the organic matter in the liquid of this product caused my greenwater episode

PS:
Next time I might try ADA AquaSoil Amazonia for comparison.

------------------------------
John P.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
arellanon
Member


Registered: January 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 98
Review Date: Wed February 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: natural looks, layers itself
Cons: cloudy when first put in

Really liked it in my 18g so I bought three bags for my 29g. Really looks good and natural. Fish and inverts seem to like the dark look. Great substrate IMHO.

------------------------------
Quisiera ser un pez...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SAWALLACE
Senior Member


Registered: December 2004
Location: California
Posts: 150
Review Date: Sat March 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Aesthetically pleasing, Easy to use, cost effective
Cons:

Nothing bad to say here, My swords never looked better. Easy to use and was very clean.

If there is a green water outbreak, ammonium is the cause of that, not necessarily the substrate. The switch probably hurt your beneficial bacteria levels. For further reference, if you plan to switch to Eco, do so slowly and gradually, over a period of weeks and your bacteria levels will not suffer.

------------------------------
-Scott

I try and look on bright side... At least my algae is pearling nicely!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit SAWALLACE's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Paul Higashikawa
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1129
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Black color is nice for planted tanks, contains nutrients, no pre-washing needed
Cons:

I used it on my 10-gal and it was very hassle-free. The price can vary from so it is wise to do some hunting. No rinsing was required for this product. You just open the bag and dump the content into the tank. You can even get by without adding any ferts the first few weeks as it comes nutrition-packed. Not a bad deal.

------------------------------
Thou shalt change 1/3 water once a week
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Paul Higashikawa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
turtlehead
Member of SCAPE


Registered: November 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2591
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $24.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Color is nice in the tank
Cons:

This substrate has an interesting twist to it, it comes packed in blackwater, and in the tank it\'ll seperate into a gravel and a sand layer by itself. The sand layer holds the plants very well. it\'s pretty messy when you first setup because of the sand, but after a few hours your tank will be set.

------------------------------
John
msgtogo.com/
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit turtlehead's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
cgm246
Junior Member


Registered: April 2005
Location: Fort Laudedale, Fl.
Posts: 7
Review Date: Fri April 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Ease of use and setup, already seeded
Cons: after a year now, leeching and compacting

make sure product has undersurface substrate as well it has started to compact a little too easy, and leeches in the water often during cleaning.

------------------------------
cgm246@yahoo.com
cgm246- yahoo im
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sully
Senior Member


Registered: November 2005
Location: California
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color, grain, and ease of planting
Cons: slight compaction

This is a great product. I keep purchasing bags and bags of this stuff. Plant is definately made easy with the fine grain size. But with the sand type grain, every few months run a spoon through it to mix up the substrate to prevent compaction. I haven't had any problems with leaching of chemicals or anything. My plants grow rapidly, and my fish are nice and healthy. I recommend this overflourite b/c of the color. People who see my flourite tank vs eco complete always like the eco because they say it looks definately more natural. But flourite is good as well. Color choice your preference
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
theteh
Senior Member


Registered: January 2006
Location: London
Posts: 281
Review Date: Mon February 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Colour, simple, no washing or mixing required
Cons: Compaction, light weight, expensive (in the UK)

Great results from the start, plants like it immediately, no dosing required for first few weeks, no algae problem as reported by one of the reviewers above.

Light weight is a problem but also an advantage at the same time. A problem because the lightest water movement can stir up the substrate, even fish fighting could stir up a cloud and leave behind craters/holes! Advantage being easy for planting, just need to gently push the plants into it!

A full account of my step-by-step setup of my aquarium with this substrate can found here (with photos):
http://www.theteh.com/./html/tropica...rium_phot.html

------------------------------
Immortal Mind Seeks Immortal Aquaria: http://www.theteh.com - Personal Aquaria Photography (Look under Projects)
Underwater Photography: http://www.theteh.com/html/products1.html

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit theteh's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
jnaz
Senior Member


Registered: May 2007
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 118
Review Date: Wed July 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Color, ease to plant, full of nutrients, no washing
Cons: some white spots on soil

I think that this soil is a great buy. My plants and shrimp pop against the dark color and the plants seem to enjoy it. It was easy to set up since you just dump it in. The only thing that I don't like about are the white spots on some of the gravel. They mess up the whole monochromatic look of the soil. But, all you have to do to solve this problem it push them into the soil or take them out. Do shop around because I have seen this substrate go for 20-36 dollars a bag.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
johnvanrees
Junior Member

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri August 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Color and texture
Cons: none yet

I just put this in what is planned to be lower tech tank... no CO2 addition. I really enjoyed
how well the new plants stay put in there! Much better than just in gravel or fluorite..now
don't weird... I put it in with a gravel and fluorite mixture as I needed additional medium
in this tank. It blended it quite well.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Vadimshevchuk
Senior Member


Registered: July 2009
Location: Cortland NY
Posts: 383
Review Date: Thu September 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Looks great easy to plant
Cons: nothing

I bought 2 bags for my 29 gallon and it looks great. I really enjoyed that my water wasnt clouding and my swordtails color just pops out. I would use it again as its a good deal. Bought for 18.99 and amazonia goes for 28 bucks and you need to w8 for them nitrates spike and major wate rchanges the first couple weeks.

------------------------------
29 gallon
10 gallon
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
matt11
Junior Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 2
Review Date: Wed March 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

I bought one bag for my 10 gallon. when i set up my tank the water was never cloudy. plus my bag came with free water clarifier. planting is hassle free because the plants stay in very well. i would definately recomend this prodduct.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Big Dog
Member


Registered: November 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 45
Review Date: Thu October 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

This is a good product. They say you do not have to cycle the water. Not to sure if this is true or not.

------------------------------
Help those in our hobby to exceed beyond there expectations :typing


Logistical Aquatic Engineer
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.