Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium related retailers » Online aquarium plant retailers « Previous Product · Next Product »

AzGardens.com
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 4602 Fri December 13, 1901
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
55% of reviewers $113.75 5.0




Description: Online Plant Sales


Author
Post A Reply 
jayheuk
Member


Registered: December 2010
Posts: 42
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good Cheap Selection
Cons: Kinda slow shipping, some unhealthy plants

I bought a bunch of plants to stock my 75 amazon tank
I ordered 3 small amazon swords, they gave me very large healthy specimens.
All the other plants came in fine with generous amounts.(I was planning on getting a few amount and make cuttings, didn't need too)

My only problem is that the bunch of vallesneria and dwarf hair grass died(due to my part of bad lighting and care)
So not there fault.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Emily6
Senior Member


Registered: February 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 748
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $75.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: See below

Would not recommend this company- they reserve the right to send you ANYTHING they deem a worthy substitute of what you actually order unless you find the fine print somewhere and un-check this option. After speaking with other members, they don't actually carry Cyperus Helferi- I got Blyxa Aubertti instead and another memeber also got something else.

What's really frustrating is I placed my order by phone and the person confirmed that they had it- they didn't. Then they charged me $45 in shipping. No ice/heat packs, still took 3 days. Plants arrived super sad looking and battered- called and was told that I should just chop off all the green and this would be fine. Yeah- but what did I pay $45 for?!? No compensation for lousy plants that I didn't order.

In short, find someone else to get plants from. The sales person actually told me "most of our customers just want something green- so yeah, that's usually what we send them." Mine was brown...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Megil Tel'Zeke
Junior Member


Registered: November 2005
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 23
Review Date: Tue November 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Their plants....Maybe?
Cons: tiny shrimp, high %age of die-off

Well I made the mistake of ordering shrimp from them. they charged my $70 for shipping, and when the shrimp arrived, i had around 40-50% DOA, and even after careful drip acclimation had more die during first night. I won't be buying shrimp from them ever again.

I have no experience with their plants.

------------------------------
Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of Equal value must be lost.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Megil Tel'Zeke's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
oceanaqua
Senior Member

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 247
Review Date: Fri November 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $140.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Umm....None?
Cons: Insane shipping price, shipped 2 day service on friday, small samples

In my experience, I recieve very small cuttings of plants, I order almost $60 worth of plants + $40 dollars shipping for a 1 pound package. This is an insane price to pay for plants that barely fill a ten gallon. In Addition, I receive some dead plants and ask for a re-order but was charge for another $40 worth of shipping.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Abe Froman
Member of SCAPE

Registered: March 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Review Date: Tue March 28, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Shipping Speed, Free Extras, Shipping Charge
Cons: Minimum order amounts

I placed two orders from this company within 12 hours of each other one for plants and shrimp, and another for fish and snails. As the orders were separate I was prepared to get billed for two separate shipments. Without any request on my part they combined the shipments and shipped them on a tuesday instead of Thursday. I live in California and selected shipping via Cal overnight instead of Fedex and the package arrive weds morning at 8am. Plants looked great, shrimp and snails are still doing fine, and they included 1 extra flag-fish more than I ordered for no charge. The extra flag died the next day but the rest are doing great a month later. They also gave me more females than males so I wont have agression problems between them which is great.

Would really recommend them if you live in the Cal Overnight delivery area as they guarantee 10am delivery and the shipping is much cheaper than ups or fedex.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AndyT.
Senior Member


Registered: June 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 178
Review Date: Wed August 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Compacta amazon swords, Red Temples were large and beautiful
Cons: Fish and shrimp % die off, order arrived incomplete, charged shipping for parts of order they did not send!

I had ordered from AAG in the late 1990's and had a really positive experience and was very disappointed this was not the case this time.

About half the fish and shrimp arrived dead, the order was short one variety of plant. When contacted they apologized and promised to send out the missing plants and replace the animals - I was very happy until I saw they charged me $60 shipping for the replacements including the plants they did not include with the initial shipment!

The replacements arrived and again, half the shrimp were dead.

As mentioned, I was happy with the compacta Amazon swords and the Red Temples but the other plants I ordered, particularly the dwarf hairgrass, 1 xlg sword, cuban broadleaf chain swords were tiny and the leaves were in awful shape. Literally the single sprig of anachris in with the Amano shrimp was larger than all 10 of the cuban broadleaf chain swords put together.

------------------------------
The air, blowing everywhere, serves all Creatures. ~Hildegarde of Bingen
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
abnormalsanon
Senior Member


Registered: June 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 233
Review Date: Sat September 2, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: decent selection
Cons: plant quality, communication

I recently ordered over $100 worth of plants to get my 55gal goldfish tank started. The 3 large swords were in great shape and the sag and anarcharis looked decent, but nothing else I ordered looked remotely healthy.

The crypts had no root structure, most of them needed at least a leaf or two trimmed off (out of no more than 2-3 leaves per plant), and some of them couldn't be salvaged at all. I ordered about 25 crypts, and they literally counted a stem with a leaf on it and one tiny root hanging off as a "plant."

Likewise with the vals, which had maybe 3-6 leaves each and half of them needed to be trimmed off.

Then there was the supposedly 6x12" plot of microsword I ordered for $17--there was almost no root structure at all and it was a mess of thin, tangled plants. The plant was so pale and yellow that I could barely tell the roots from the leaves. After 3 weeks under high light and with CO2 injection/ferts, it's finally perking up a little.

I also got a dead fish in with the microsword, which my cats enjoyed smelling but I did not.

The shipping was about $50, I believe, and I never received a shipping notification email, so I wasn't even sure anything had shipped or if my plants had been in stock at all until I received them 2 weeks later.

Overall, I would say go somewhere else, even if you need a large plant package. The selection is okay, but the plant quality is very poor in my experience. I don't have much experience with their customer service, except for the lack of communication about shipping.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit abnormalsanon's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
tefsom85
Senior Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 124
Review Date: Sat February 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good variety, nice plants, reasonable price, fast delivery.
Cons: None from my perspective.

I hate to go against the grain , but I just received my latest order from AZ gardens and I was happy with it. Maybe I'm lucky but this is the 3rd time that I have ordered from them, and I was once again satisfied with the quality and price. I received exactly what I ordered and it shipped exactly as they said it would. In my opinion, I got alot of plants for my money. For $120, I got enough to fully stuff my 120g.

The shipping was $50ish but that's what I expected given that the plants were overnighted- they have to pay FedEx to ship the plants to you so really, it seems justifiable.. In fact, I contacted them prior for a shipping estimate which they quickly provided. The point here is, if you only want a small amount of plants, buy from someone here or at your LFS as the shipping does cost a bit.

------------------------------
Will
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mycross3
Junior Member

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sun April 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Live shrimp and fish
Cons: Shipping fees

All my live stock arrived alive no complaints.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
RodL
Junior Member

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon December 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Plants came healthy
Cons: pricey shipping but they can't control that

Peter @ AZ Gardens is great to deal with and very knowledgable. Plants came as ordered and were very nice size. I just wish shipping was a little cheaper. I would use them again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
frog111
Junior Member

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 9
Review Date: Thu September 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: wide selection
Cons: tiny plants for some species

My experience has been mixed. My most recent order came with one mislabeled plant (Madagascar lace plant, so kind of hard to misidentify) and the crypts were tiny, and as another poster said, a plant was 1 leaf with a tiny root. Many of the plants were emersed grown, which can be a problem when starting a new tank.

Second order was placed but has yet to arrive, despite being placed well ahead of the deadline for shipping. No communication saying what reason for the delay. Some people claim the merchant is just a transshipper, and if they dont get it from their supplier, you dont get it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.