Aquatic Plant Central

Aquatic Plant Central (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/index.php)
-   Aquascaping (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/aquascaping/)
-   -   Removing Java moss!! (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/aquascaping/144889-removing-java-moss.html)

NYRkorey 09-06-2020 08:44 AM

Removing Java moss!!
 
1 Attachment(s)
is there any way to remove Java moss! It gross at a alarming rate! Regret putting it in. Is there any way to remove it permanently or do I have to break down the whole 150gallon tank?? Or could I keep the fish in there and remove the plants and clean up the tank and juat plant new plants? Or would the effect the balance of the tank? Please help! I'll Try to attach a picture this is every 2 3 days I'm taking HUGE chunks of moss out and hate the look!

mistergreen 09-06-2020 09:06 AM

Re: Removing Java moss!!
 
That's not java moss. It's string algae. You find that in ponds with a lot of sun. That should give you a hint.

You can remove it with a toothbrush. I would remove the plants and dip in in H2O2 for 10-20 seconds and then rinse in water.

Weaveman 09-06-2020 09:50 AM

I got a true siamese algae eater for a 6g tank like that and he completely cleaned it up, but I also changed some parameters to fix the problem.
I moved him to my 75g and he became a 5" bully and I had to take him to the lfs

NYRkorey 09-06-2020 10:51 AM

Wow!! Idk why this entire time I thought it was java moss! So what would be the best best to take care of this, are the plants under to much light? I always feel I clean it then it just blows up. I'll try and get some fish that eat that stuff I may need a couple with how much blooms

hoppycalif 09-06-2020 03:01 PM

Re: Removing Java moss!!
 
What lighting are you using, and what are the tank dimensions? Are you also using CO2? It looks like you have very few plants, and they aren't growing robustly. Healthy growing plants, with extra CO2 consistent with the light intensity can greatly reduce the algae growth.

NYRkorey 09-06-2020 03:16 PM

I have 2 fluval spectrum 3.0 lights Bluetooth, work great, ran out of CO2 and been insane to find someone refilling during this stupid pandemic, so I usually run CO2 and my plants were flourishing, without it they took a hit sadly until I can get CO2 back in there. My tank is 150g 6 feet long tank

Weaveman 09-07-2020 03:45 AM

I think you found the culprit, fluctuating CO2 levels are a real cause of some algae.
Here is a guide I like to use when I get algae problems.
https://greenaqua.hu/en/alga-tajekoztato

hoppycalif 09-07-2020 05:46 AM

Re: Removing Java moss!!
 
Without CO2 there is a limit on how much light intensity you can use without almost certain algae problems. As I understand it, that light is adjustable in intensity. Do you have a PAR meter, and what is the PAR reading at the substrate level? The sudden loss of CO2 would have caused that big algae growth, especially if the light intensity it much above 30 PAR at the substrate.

NYRkorey 09-07-2020 11:24 AM

I was finally able to get my 20lb co2 refilled and picked up some golden chinese siamese algea eaters to help clean and maintain. My PAR reading were good. I juat gotta get my CO2 back in there

jrIL 09-07-2020 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NYRkorey (Post 1009333)
I was finally able to get my 20lb co2 refilled and picked up some golden chinese siamese algea eaters to help clean and maintain. My PAR reading were good. I juat gotta get my CO2 back in there

If you got the Chinese algae eaters to eat algae I believe your in for a disappointment.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.