Aquatic Plant Central

Aquatic Plant Central (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/index.php)
-   Equipment (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/equipment/)
-   -   Can I use this regulator for co2? (https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/equipment/74240-can-i-use-regulator-co2.html)

drunkenmastera 10-21-2010 10:32 AM

Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
This one right here

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

or this

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

If so, what fittings would I need? Can anyone tell if it has the 320 fitting just by looking at it?

Seattle_Aquarist 10-21-2010 10:37 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
Hi drunkenmastera,

The specifications for that regulator appear here. It appears it comes standard with a CGA 540 connection for oxygen tanks, not a CGA 320 for CO2. BTW, that is a good price. Call your local gas supply dealer and ask if they can change the tank connector and for how much.

drunkenmastera 10-21-2010 10:39 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
what about the second one, that one is 320?
I'm so confuse by which one i can use as a co2 regulator since there's so many......
if it has the 320 , i can use it?

bosmahe1 10-21-2010 10:49 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
The first one could be used if you swapped the input nipple to a cga320 for CO2. The scale of the output gauge is a little high for our use but is still usable. A replacement gauge could be bought for about $10.00.

The second regulator is more idea with the scale of the secondary gauge and the fact that it already has a cga 320 nipple. But, I see a white residue around the relief valve. It makes me think the diaphraphm is blown. It could be rebuilt for about $50.00 at:

http://www.regulatortorchrepair.com/

and it would be like brand new. It is also smaller and lighter than the first one. Judging buy the model number it is kind of old.

Oops, sorry, looking again at the picture of the second one, the white residue is on the output, not the relief valve. The second one could be a good buy. The output would probably be replaced anyway.

darkoon 10-21-2010 10:49 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
2nd one looks good, it has 320, but looks like it needs a washer. excellent price for a victor.

bosmahe1 10-21-2010 10:55 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
Unfortunately, the listing of the second one has ended.

drunkenmastera 10-21-2010 10:59 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
thanks guy, what about this brand?
The brand is like unknown

http://cgi.ebay.com/VWR-Two-Stage-Ga...item56406a4f63

darkoon 10-21-2010 11:10 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
it is a vwr, not sure how good it is, haven't heard anyone using it. I have a spare re-branded victor GPT270A for $35 + actual shipping cost. pm me if you're interested.

bosmahe1 10-21-2010 11:15 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by drunkenmastera (Post 561808)
thanks guy, what about this brand?
The brand is like unknown

http://cgi.ebay.com/VWR-Two-Stage-Ga...item56406a4f63

It looks like a good one. It is indeed a dual stage with a cga320 input and the secondary gauge is a good scale. It probably is manufactured by Victor, can't say for sure.

More importantly, the seller will take a return in 7 days. For that price it is worth a try. If worst case scenario, you had to have it rebuilt, you still would be within a reasonable purchase price. I had a Victor blow a diaphragm once and had it rebuilt. I still was happy with it. With the low output pressures we use, it is not likely happen to often, even if the regulator is old.

Looking at the picture again, the gauges look brand new so, it's possible the regulator has been rebuilt already.

drunkenmastera 10-21-2010 11:16 AM

Re: Can I use this regulator for co2?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by darkoon (Post 561812)
it is a vwr, not sure how good it is, haven't heard anyone using it. I have a spare re-branded victor GPT270A for $35 + actual shipping cost. pm me if you're interested.

pmmmmmmmm


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.