Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Substrates « Previous Product · Next Product »

Seachem Flourite™
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 9907 Fri December 13, 1901
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $15.00 7.9




Description: Flourite™ is a specially fracted stable porous clay gravel for the natural planted aquarium. Its appearance is best suited to planted aquaria, but may be used in any aquarium environment. Flourite™ is most effective when used alone as an integral substrate bed, but it may be mixed with other gravels. Gravel modifiers such as laterite are not necessary. Flourite™ is not chemically coated or treated and will not alter the pH of the water. Although pre-washed, it should be rinsed before use to remove residual dust. Dust can also be minimized by filling tank slowly and dispersing water so that the Flourite™ bed is not disturbed. Slight initial cloudiness is normal and will clear rapidly (2–12 hours). This bag is sufficient for about a 5 cm (2 inch) deep bed in a typical 40 L (10 gallon) tank. Recommended use is 1 kg (2 lbs) for approximately each 200 cm2 (31 in2) of tank bottom at a depth of 5 cm (2 in).

Sizes: 7 kg (15.4lbs)


Author
Post A Reply 
Big Dog
Member


Registered: November 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 45
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

I like use this stuff. It helps grow my plants nice. You should rinse it out before you put it in your aquarium.

------------------------------
Help those in our hobby to exceed beyond there expectations :typing


Logistical Aquatic Engineer
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Paul Higashikawa
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $18.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Natural looking color, nutrient-packed
Cons: Can get messy if not careful

With everything else being good, it\'s just the messy factor that made me given this product a 9. It is wise to add the water slowly and preferably on top of a plate to avoid stirring up the sediment. It could take days to clear up the cloud. Other than that, I like this product. Red plants grow especially well.

------------------------------
Thou shalt change 1/3 water once a week
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Paul Higashikawa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
AaronT
Moderator


Registered: April 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5864
Review Date: Sat July 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $12.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: long lasting, grows plants well, availability
Cons: the nasty red color

I recommend Flourite to most everyone for its ease of use and plant growing capabilities. If you plant dry when setting up and use a spray bottle to keep plants moist while doing so you can fill the aquarium without too much of the dust getting in the water column. I just wish it came in a nicer color.

------------------------------
In the D.C., Maryland, or NOVA area? Come check out The Greater Washington Aquatic Plants Association! www.gwapa.org
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Talonstorm
Member


Registered: February 2005
Location: Honesdale, PA/Somerset, NJ
Posts: 93
Review Date: Sun July 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good plant growth
Cons: Ugly color, very dusty

The regular Flourite is dusty, but not terrible. The Flourite Red took hours to rinse and I still get a lot of red dust in my tank whenever I have to disturb the gravel bed. The Flourite Red is very similar in color to regular Flourite once it is thoroughly rinsed. I didn\'t like the color in my tank at all, but this is purely up to ones own taste.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
stcyrwm
Senior Member


Registered: April 2005
Posts: 404
Review Date: Thu August 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good for plants
Cons: Way difficult to work with

My flourite was a nightmare to rinse and still clouds up quite a bit whenever I make any changes in tank. Seachem is a great company and it may be I just got a bad batch - lots of clay - but I wouldn\'t risk it again especially because their Onyx sand is so great to work with.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Zapins
The Plant Whisperer


Registered: July 2004
Location: Harrogate, TN
Posts: 6403
Review Date: Fri November 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Array great stuff, granuals not too big not too small. plants root in it easily and the dark fluorite color is quite nice in my opinion.
Cons: Array slightly cloudy when first put into tank, though this clears up over time as you vacume the substrate

great stuff wouldnt trade it for anything!

------------------------------
Plant problems? ---> www.deficiencyfinder.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Zapins's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Sully
Senior Member


Registered: November 2005
Location: California
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Grows plants, good size substrate
Cons: Rinsing, and Clouding after stirring

Flourite is a good substrate, that grows and holds down plants well. Most people including me, hate the fact that you have to rinse the stuff after a few hours. The cloudy that occurs after you stick it in usually last a few hours to a few days. But once its in, its usually never clouds up too much unless you undergo intense replanting. I prefer eco-complete, because of the color, and fact that its dump bag in and set it and forget it. Both work well.

Sully
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
GekkoGeck0
Senior Member


Registered: November 2005
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 109
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Holds plants well, good particle size, natural looking, plants grow very well in it.
Cons: Messy, time consuming to wash, clouds water.

I spent a good hour washing this substrate, and it did cloud my water. That's not my major problem with Flourite. The fine particles attach to other particles in the water and leave messy gray clumps in dead areas in the tank. This gray stuff shows up very well on my red slate rockwork and gives a dirty appearance to the tank. I vacuum up as much as I can of it, but it always reappears, I assume it's the super-fine particles from the Flourite that originally cloud the water that attach to rotting organics and form the clumps.

Other than that, I appreciate the look of the Flourite. I have had many compliments from friends and family who are not into planted aquaria, as well as from other aquarists. It holds plants quite well and they send their roots deep into it and establish good holds. Replanting is easy as well, the particles are small enough to be able to loosen from the roots if needed. The reddish-brown colour can be a compliment to many different aquascapes and is an alternative to the dark grey and black of Onyx Gravel and Eco-Complete.

I wouldn't recommend it if you are just starting out and are looking for something super easy, but only because of the washing and clouding factor. If you don't mind a bit of hard work, this is a lovely substrate.

------------------------------
Plants: Cryptocoryne parva, Cryptocoryne sp., Cryptocoryne x willisii, Hygrophila difformis, Hygrophila polysperma, Limnophila sessiliflora, Microsorum pteropus 'Windeløv', Vesicularia dubyana

Critters:
1.1.0 Carinotetraodon travancoricus
0.0.2 Otocinclus sp.
3.0.0 Caridina japonica
0.3.0 Neocaridina denticulata sinensis
3.2.0 Coenobita compressus
0.1.0 Lampropeltis alterna
0.0.1 Lamprophis maculatus
0.1.0 Pachydactylus rangei
0.1.0 Gekko gecko
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
subundaortus
Junior Member


Registered: June 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
Review Date: Thu October 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy to use, plants love it
Cons: color options

I rinsed this briefly through a net and then placed directly into my tank. It was mixed with Laterite and small gravel and my results have been better than expected. There was no clouding of the tank, except for very briefly after the initial filling.
Tank (16gal bow) has been up and running for approximately two months and the plants are doing fabulous.

------------------------------
subundaortus
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
brewce
Junior Member


Registered: December 2007
Location: North Windham CT
Posts: 27
Review Date: Thu January 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great looking natural color, plants love it
Cons: Tough to wash out the dust.

If you use this be prepared to change out your filter floss a few times. Despite what the package says you really need to rinse this stuff down. Otherwise I find it beautiful to work with and nice to look at.

------------------------------
Why can't I raise Kelp ?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.