Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Lighting » Compact fluorescent « Previous Product 

Satellite Compact Fluorescent Fixtures
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 3918 Mon April 18, 2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $60.00 8.8




Description: Combines the Lunar Light with the Smart Paq (10000K daylight and 460 nanometer actinic) bulb to provide energy efficient, 24-hour day and night lighting. Cost effective alternative offering high light output. Dual Satellite models include built-in fan (except for 20&quot for additional ventilation and two switches for independent lighting control. Includes Dual Daylight 6,700K/10,000K and Dual Actinic 420nm/460nm bulbs. Square pin system.


Author
Post A Reply 
jcolletteiii

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 61
Review Date: Wed February 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well made, aesthetically pleasing unit.
Cons: 50/50 10000k/actinic bulb/

(1x65 watt 30\" unit) 65 watts for $65, excellent bang for the buck. Fit and finish top notch. This unit is quite pretty IMO. The lunar led really makes viewing after the lights are out interresting. Only downside - comes with 50/50 10000k/actinic - which is for reef setups. The bulb is very blue, and doesn\'t produce enough visible light for the plants. So, if you order this light, also order a new bulb.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Osteomata

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 143
Review Date: Fri March 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Attractive, Quality product, solid lighting choice
Cons: No freshwater option in original purchase, moon light limited

20\" 1x40 watt version. Excellent 10 gallon standard tank option. Now resides on my 15 Gallon High, doing great work for my plants.
Pros: very attractive, professional design. Good light output for the price. A bit more than an AH supply DIY product, but without the headache. No heat problems despite lack of fan. (Cut out is readily modified for a fan)
Negs: 20\" varient only has one moonlight, which does not provide sufficient coverage. Moonlight is white, would have prefferred blue. Marine lighting is the only option. Must buy a seperate bulb to meet freshwater plant requirements.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Paul Higashikawa
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sleek design, comes with lunar light(s)
Cons: Originally marketed for marine tanks only

I would\'ve given this product a full 10, if not for its included bulb, which was half actinic and half 10,000K; neither of which are too suitable for planted tanks. I had to shell out another $25 just to get a plant bulb. The socket being that of a Panasonic square pin has made finding replacement bulbs that much more difficult. Luckily, I was able to find a nice deal at Hello Lights; they are having a buy one get one free 8700K square pin bulbs. I got mine last week and I love it!

------------------------------
Thou shalt change 1/3 water once a week
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Paul Higashikawa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
turtlehead
Member of SCAPE


Registered: November 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2660
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Better to look at than a DIY
Cons: actinic bulb

Good light, would be even better if they made a freshwater one. Looks great, but I wished they had a hanging unit.

------------------------------
John

Follow on IG: @glassaqua
My Girl and I's Epic 5 tank build thread

90p ADA
5n Ultum Nature
3n Ultum Nature
20c Ultum Nature
20c Ultum Nature
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit turtlehead's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Blinky

Registered: March 2005
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mon April 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Design, fan, aluminum housing
Cons: Bulbs

This fixture is everything it promised to be. I bought the 36\" 2 x 96W fixture with moonlight on ebay. I love that it has separate switches and cords for each bulb, the fan, and the moonlight. I wish I had been able to get suitable bulbs for a planted tank, but if you\'re going marine (or want to sell it) the actinic that comes with this fixture is actually quite a good bulb. I also bought the available \'legs\', in case I decided to use the fixture over an open-top tank or allow more room for cooling.
The only real con for me really has nothing to do with the fixture itself, rather my tank\'s design. The single moonlight sits directly over the centre brace, so it\'s useless to me

------------------------------
Current tanks:
30g FW planted - 130W PC, Flourite, AC70 HOB
65g SW BB mixed reef - 302W PC, XP2 canister, Remora
21g SW softy reef - 30W T8, XP2 canister
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.