Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Carbon dioxide equipment » Regulators « Previous Product · Next Product »

Milwaukee MA957 CO2 Regulator
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 16855 Fri December 13, 1901
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $73.66 8.1




Description: Includes flow regulator, needle valve, electronic solenoid & bubble counter. Unit comes with dual gauges each with dual reading of both psi & kg/cm. Left gauge meters tank capacity and right gauge meters flow. Needle valve flow control provides for precise measurement. The solenoid valve comes with a 1.5 meter power cord.

Image ©Milwaukee Instruments


Author
Post A Reply 
Emily6
Senior Member


Registered: February 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 801
Review Date: Fri December 13, 1901 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Reliable
Cons:

I've had mine running for over a year now- I purchased it as part of a CO2 system kit. I followed the instructions that it came with- which, granted, were minimal- and had no real issues. It was also my first and only regulator. As such, I have no real point of comparison and therefore gave it a 10 since as far as I'm concerned, it does exactly what it promised to.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bbkid43

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 43
Review Date: Thu February 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $75.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: easy to adjust
Cons:

Very good product
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pineapple
Senior Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 1035
Review Date: Thu February 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Well built
Cons: The needle valve is not easy to fine tune

If the needle valve was more sensitive to fine tuning, this would be an excellent product. But since the needle valve is not, I rate it as only good.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AaronT
Moderator


Registered: April 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5864
Review Date: Sat July 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: easy to setup if you read the instructions
Cons: adjustment of needle valve is tricky

Getting the regulator setup and fine tuned can take a little bit of time, but is not hard to do. Once the regulator is set it holds it\'s set value very consistently.

------------------------------
In the D.C., Maryland, or NOVA area? Come check out The Greater Washington Aquatic Plants Association! www.gwapa.org
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SnyperP

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 404
Review Date: Sun September 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $69.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Adjustable output pressure.
Cons: Learning how to adjust and lack of check valve

I\'ve only had this setup for a few days, but it took a bit of learning. At first it refused to hold pressure. Every few hours the PSI would drop 5-10psi. I heard stories of someone (Russell\'s) regulator doing the same prior to malfunctioning. That worried me a bit, but i realized this was due to the adjustable output pressure of the unit. If you make an adjustment to the BLACK knob while the needle valve is partially closed or closed it builds up a bit of excess pressure behind it and slowly bleeds off. The solution is simple, open the needle valve all the way allowing the excess gas to vent out for a few seconds and then adjust the needle valve to your desired setting. The PSI levels have been rock solid since.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sully

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $76.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Looks good, holds bubble count, does what a regulator does
Cons: Initial setup is tricky

Good regulator, tricky setup instructions. at first I got no pressure in the working (right) guage, but after a tinkered around I finally got the bubble count to where I want it, and also the right pressure went up. You gotta tinker around with it at first 30 mins tops. I run my 24/7 so no problems with variable bubble rates.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mousky

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 65
Review Date: Tue July 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Cheep
Cons: Very hard to get bubble count stable

A good old cheep product. The only negative aspect is that it can take half an hour to get the bubble count stable. A lot of fine tuning of the needle valve is needed and it takes about two minutes between each small turn to stabilise the flow or you will end up dumping huge amounts oc C02 into your tank.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sly_Marbo
Member


Registered: June 2006
Location: Escanaba, MI
Posts: 60
Review Date: Tue February 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well made
Cons: The needle valve will gradually shift for the first week or so, but after that it's fine

Personally I had no trouble setting up this unit, overall it took me about 10 minutes to get it going. Will buy again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.