Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Filters and filter media » Canister  · Next Product »

Eheim ECCO Canister FIlters
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 9428 Wed September 15, 2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $69.50 8.2




Description: ECCO canister filters offer 3 stages of long-term filtration (mechanical, chemical, and biological) in an easy-to-set-up package. Innovative multifunction handle locks for safe carrying, self-primes for immediate water flow, and releases quickly to open for easy access to quick-clean media baskets. Includes quick-release pivot valves and filter pads. Adjustable flow rate.

Models:
2231
2233
2235


Author
Post A Reply 
arellanon
Member


Registered: January 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 98
Review Date: Tue May 10, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: small size (2232), good looks, easy maintenance
Cons: noisy compared to Eheim Pro Series

Filtering an 18g with it. Love it to death. It\'s noisy compared to the Eheim Pro series but nevertheless quiet. I have it running in my room and have no problem witht the low noise it produces. I like it because of its small size and good looks. It is very easy to prime and clean; the handle is used for priming and the nozzles lock the water for easy cleaning. Perhaps the best bang for your buck purchase as far as filters go.

------------------------------
Quisiera ser un pez...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MatPat
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 3819
Review Date: Fri June 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fits easily under cabinet, easy maintenance, media included
Cons: Low advertised flow rate, poor output design out of box

I\'ve used the 2231 (2232 now I believe) on my 30g for over a year now and it has performed flawlessly. I did purchase a spray bar since I do not like the output design of this filter.

I find it has more than enough flow for my 30g but I find it a hassle to clean the media. However, I only clean it every other month or so.

I also have a 2233 (or is it a 2234 now) on each of my two 55g tanks and the same pros and cons above apply to this filter.

Both are very quiet and easy to prime.

------------------------------
Matt

Live in SouthWestern Ohio? check out SWOAPE
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Talonstorm
Member


Registered: February 2005
Location: Honesdale, PA/Somerset, NJ
Posts: 93
Review Date: Sun July 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy to prime, comes with media, nearly silent
Cons: None

I have had a Ecco 2231 on my 29 gallon for a few months now and I love it. It is nearly silent and primed so easily. I purchased a spray bar for it so I would have some movement on the water surface and it has worked out very well.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Chrom0zone
Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 65
Review Date: Sun August 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $69.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SILENT. Media Baskets, Primer Handle, Swivel Heads, German!
Cons: Size vs Flow, Green pipes

Thanks to all who helped answer my questions, as I was choosing a canister for my ADA Mini M.

I'm really liking my new Eheim Ecco 2232 and here is why;

1. It's freakin' EASY to use. Filling the media baskets and loading was simple and smooth.
the 2232 has 2 baskets (with a lid). I like that I can manipulate the media if I desire.
1a. It comes with what you need to get started; 3different pads and it comes with plenty of SUBSTRATpro.Fill it up and drop it in.

2. The Handle pump/primer makes is way too easy to fill the canister. And it does make a nice handle to when you want to take it out on the town!

3. SWIVEL heads for the input/output! Dreamy, take out all the kinks while you are trying to set-up is very convenient and alleviates frustration.

4. The output has a swivel head too, you can easily adjust the flow direction/angle without moving the output pipes around.

5. German engineering! Need I say more?

6. Crystal clear water. Damn the tank looks nice.

7. Oh yea, I CAN'T hear it. It is NOT noisy.

Cons:
1. Ugly green pipes
2. Kinda big for the flow rate, but good enough for my mini M.
3. None yet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hmongronaldo
Junior Member

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed September 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: style, flow rate,

it sucks, it would work okay for 2 weeks then super low flow rate. So i return it and got another.. guess what.. same thing.. I would even clean it, pipe, filter head, everything,, prime and same.. So i returned it and got a pro 3e. don't buy it.. go with classic instead.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.