Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Filters and filter media » Canister « Previous Product · Next Product »

Eheim Professional II Thermo
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 4086 Sun August 5, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $250.00 8.5




Description: The Eheim Pro II Thermo's streamlined square design ensures stability with greater filter volume. Startup is easy - just press the pump head to activate the convenient integrated starter system. You'll always know exactly when to clean your filter thanks to a handy visual flow meter. Plus, a double-tap connector ingeniously combines automatic integrated shutoff valves, hose connections, and locking clamp in one convenient unit.

Models:
2126
2128


Author
Post A Reply 
JERP
Senior Member

Registered: February 2003
Posts: 234
Review Date: Mon October 2, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet, compact, easy to maintain.
Cons: awkward cords, weak hose attachment, must know Celcius

I've had the 2126 for a couple of years now and I'm happy with it. It is quiet and powerful. The temperature display and control goes in the cabinet with only a little temp probe to place in the water. The connections are clean and easy. The filter is sturdy and easy to maintain.

My three minor complaints are:
1. Thermometer is only in Celcius. I can get used to it.
2. Heat element is in base of unit while pump is on top. The heater and motor have separate power cords that can get awkward during maintenance. There is no over-heating protection on the thermal element either in case the pump gets unplugged and the heater stays on or the heater comes on while the filter is empty.
3. The hose attachment to the locking clamp is wimpy. I've had the hoses pop off while rotating the pump under the cabinet. That was exciting.

My gripes are minor and only affect you if you don't follow instructions and common sense. I recommend this filter to anyone thinking about buying one.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JERP
Senior Member

Registered: February 2003
Posts: 234
Review Date: Tue November 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

The hoses popped off again and lost a gallon or two into the carpet. I ditched the included plastic clamps and attached metal hose clamps
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
turbomkt
Member of SCAPE


Registered: March 2004
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 2249
Review Date: Mon January 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Silent! Heater with remote display and control.
Cons: Can't think of any.

I have to say I've never had a problem with the hoses. While the clip that keeps them on the quick release fitting isn't that strong, it works. It may be that I haven't had to mess with the hoses once I had things set up.

------------------------------
--Mike


To join the SCAPE group on APC, click here and choose SCAPE.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit turbomkt's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
ErrorS

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon February 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great capacity. Good flow rate. Amazing workmanship and reliability. Near silent, Overall good design
Cons: Inlet/Outlet hoses and ends are ugly. Cords can be an annoyance. Primer doesn't always work perfectly

Great filter and I would highly recommend it to anyone, I doubt I would buy another non-Eheim again. Great reliability, even after a year it's working like it's new. Little maintanance, easy maintanance when the time comes, near silent. I love it, it was well worth the money.

That being said, I do have some minor issues with it.

The cords can be a problem. You have one coming out of the filter head and two out of the base. It's only slightly annoying at worst but I do wish they had spent more time considering cord placement.

The in and out hoses, spraybar and intake strainer look pretty bad. I would highly recommend replacing them with the installation sets, which I wish had come with the filter in the first place.

I don't like the intake strainer and modified it almost immediately. The openings are too wide and there are few high-flow surface area points on the intake. The water that will be filter has to pass over a very small area to be taken in. I much prefer the design of a strainer like you would find on the Emp400, high surface area with very high intake at all poinds. Debris will sit on the bottom of the intake for this filter and not be picked up.

I run double micro filters in mine to catch more waste. The filter material they use is really nice but it still misses a significiant amount of waste. Even using a pre-filter with floss, two ehfisynth filters and a final floss layer on top, the top-most filter wouldn't take long to dirty. I would have preferred to have a third and much finer mechanical filter material to top off the filter like the floss-like 5micron filters you can buy in some stores.

It seems like I have a lot of complaints. I would still highly recommend it, it's a great filter and I duobt anyone makes one that is better.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ed seeley
Senior Member


Registered: December 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 1169
Review Date: Sun August 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent performance, brilliant media capacity
Cons: All the cords!

Like other had said the cords are a complete PITA. They make maintenance way more annoying than it should be. Ehiem really should have thought this through properly. I can't see why the power leads can't be built into a single disconnecting unit like the pipes are. They are so easy to disconnect yet the leads are a pain.

I wouldn't recommend this model as I think a better idea is to buy the 2028, same filter without the heater and add a Hydor heater to the pipework.

The actual filter part though, rather than the heating, is pretty faultless and I'd really recommend other ehiem models.

------------------------------
Ed
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.