Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Filters and filter media » Canister « Previous Product · Next Product »

Ehiem Eheim Professional
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 4617 Fri August 25, 2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $114.67 9.5




Description: New technological innovations guarantee optimum filtration as well as easy handling and service. Streamline squared design provides stable footing and greater filter volume. Fitting directly into the pump head, the newly developed integrated double tap connector ingeniously combines the shutoff valves, the hose connections and the locking clamp into a perfect single unit. Filter media containers with retraceable handles greatly simplify setup and cleaning of the filter media. The media containers offer complete versatility in the setup of different filter media.

Models Include:
2222
2224
2226


Author
Post A Reply 
pineapple
Senior Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 1035
Review Date: Mon March 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $124.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Silent, durable, easy to clean, flow control
Cons: -

I have two Eheim 2224s running on 20 and 30 US gallon aquariums. They are silent, durable and easy to clean. I recommend them highly. The flow control is excellent.

Note, I also run CO2 directly into the filter intakes and have no troubles with gas locks. In addition, I have Hydor in-line heaters attached to the output of each filter.

These canisters are small enough to place in limited space cabinets.

When I bought these, they came with Eheim filter media. I run one of these with the stock Eheim media and the other with Eheim media and cut up foam blocks in the lower basket. The foam seems to work well as a prefilter and site of bacterial colonization.

In terms of mechanical filtration, the water in these tanks is crystal clear.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
arellanon

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 98
Review Date: Sat March 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $130.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: whisper quiet, good circulation, looks cool
Cons: none

I run mine with a CO2 reactor and a Hydor inline heater. My 29g is in awesome condition. Water is crystal clear and circulation is good. Nothing but Eheim for me!

------------------------------
Quisiera ser un pez...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cavan Allen
Administrator


Registered: July 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD - USA
Posts: 7313
Review Date: Fri March 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $90.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Silent, dependable, easy to clean
Cons: slight flow control malfunction, ugly inlet strainer

I\'ve had my 2222 for about four years.

First, the negatives. The flow control on the out side has been stuck at about 90% open. I am afraid to try to fix it for fear of breaking it. Also, the provided inlet strainer is unnecessarily large and conspicuous. I have replaced mine.

Other than that, it has been a pleasure to own. It has been exceptionally quiet, dependable, and easy to clean. I have a feeling that the problem with the flow control is an unusual one and do not hesitate to recommend it to others. As far as I\'m concerned, it was money well spent.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Adrian

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 10
Review Date: Fri August 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, durable, estetic, efficient
Cons: price of the unit, and price of the replacement media

I have 2224 running on my 35 gallon tank. The quality of filtering is great, unit is whisper quitet (I have to put my hand on it to find out if it works).

I would not hesitate to recommend this unit for anyone with the money to spend - Eheims are not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Ehfisubstrat media is outrageously expensive, and it is supposed to be replaced every 6 months (at least partially). Ehfisubstrat II is even more expensive, but Eheim claims that it lasts twice as long.

I use precut foam for my fine filter (12$ CAD got me a roll of foam from Big Als and hour of work got me 12 replacement pads (I still have spare foam for another 24), while Eheim package of 3 fine and one coarse cost 25$ CAN. I will do the same for coarse pad when the time comes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.