Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Test Kits » Nitrate (NO3) Test Kits  · Next Product »

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Fresh/Marine Nitrate Liquid Test Kit
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 4982 Sat December 17, 2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $6.33 9.0




Description: The Nitrate Test Kit is a fast, easy and accurate test for freshwater and saltwater aquariums. The kit contains two dropper bottles for accurate dispensing of test solutions, easy-to-read instructions and color chart, a non-staining glass test tube with a snap-tight cap, and instructions.

Specifications:
Reads levels from 0 to 160 ppm. Each kit will do 90 tests.

Size:
Each bottle: 1 fl oz


Author
Post A Reply 
TWood

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 432
Review Date: Sat March 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $7.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Accurate, cheap, easy, fast
Cons: Must follow directions from day one of use.

This is a great NO3 test kit for both beginners and more experienced hobbyists. With NO3 being one of the more important nutrients to get a handle on from the start, the low cost of entry makes it easy for the novice to get it right without spending a fortune on a single kit.

It uses a two-bottle reagent system that requires that the user shake Bottle #2 before use. This is important because if the reagent is used without proper mixing, all tests that follow can be thrown off.

This problem can be corrected however, by simply testing the kit itself against a known sample. Use The Fertilator here on APC to prepare a sample with a calculated NO3 amount, then test the kit. It will be right on if used properly from day one. However, once calibrated this way, any error can also be adjusted for.

This kit uses a printed color chart for comparison to get a reading that is very easy to read in the 0-5-10-20ppm range. Above 20ppm the colors get too hard to distinguish, but that end of the chart could just as easily be labelled \'too much\' anyway.

TW

------------------------------
Heh
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
titan97
Senior Member


Registered: February 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 348
Review Date: Wed July 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $7.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, availability
Cons:

I bought this kit along with a bunch of other AP kits. It read nothing but >160ppm for the longest time in my aquarium, so I thought it was wrong even though it read my tap water as 0ppm. I bought a Hagen NO3 kit and wasn\'t happy with the color chart it came with. I couldn\'t equate my sample with the chart at all. I ended up diluting my water sample enough to get a good reading with my AP kit. Turns out, I really did have >300ppm NO3. It has changed since then, but the kit reads very well. It is critical to shake bottle #2.

------------------------------
-Dustin
currently of Charlotte, NC
125gal work in progress
They call me "The Chrome-inator": Saving the world from oxidation one molecule of chrome at a time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sully

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sat December 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Wait time

I've used this product several times. Always accurate. only complaint is that it takes about 10 minutes to see result.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.