Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Lighting » Fluorescent » Kits  

AH Supply Compact Fluorescent Kits
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 3533 Mon October 16, 2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $55.00 9.2




Description: A H Supply's Bright Kits™ allow the Do-It-Yourself hobbyist to get the maximum efficiency from compact fluorescent lighting. Install in your canopy...retrofit your single-tube light strip...or build a DIY wood enclosure -- with the superior components in these kits, the lighting solutions you create can be better than any assembled unit you could buy.

The photo shows the new 2x55w Bright Kit #30552 which includes moisture-resistant endcaps. Bulbs shown in the photos must be ordered separately


Author
Post A Reply 
TWood

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 432
Review Date: Sun March 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost effective, light effective, compact, simple
Cons: Some assembly required (but it -is- a kit you know)

These kits are very well thought out and get the job done. Lots of light in a compact package at a good price. The reflectors are a good buy all by themselves if you already have the other components. The instructions are clear and there is always help available from Kim, the owner of the company.

TW

------------------------------
Heh
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SnyperP

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 404
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Hight quality lights and great customer service!
Cons:

I bought the 2x13 Deluxe Bright kit. It came with everything you need to retrofit an existing 10gal hood. I love the kit. It\'s very easy to put together with some simple hand tools. What impressed me even more than the kit itself is AHsupply\'s customer server. When they shipped out my kit the shipped the wrong item (2x13 Standard kit). By the time i recieved the packaged, I had gotten an email correcting the problem. They overnighted the rest of the parts to me at their cost to fix the issue! Fantastic service and I highly recommend them to anyone.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CrownMan
Senior Member

Registered: September 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 569
Review Date: Thu September 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Price, Great Results
Cons: Need a good tool selection, Requires some thought to layout.

I\'m a Mathematician, not an engineer so assembly was a bit challenging for me. However, the product, a 1x55W 24\" kit, fit my existing All Glass Plastic hood with some modification. It took me about 2 hours from start to finish and I have a working 55W CF light for my 29G High. I had to come up with some mounting bolts for the ballast as the cheap plastic hood was too flimsy for the supplied screws. I also had to use some wood spacers between the reflector and the hood because of the plastic risers that were taller than the supplied plastic offsets. But for someone as clutsy as me, I got it to work and only cut myself once (a record low for a diy project). The only complaint I have about the equipment is the rubber flourescent bulb socket. It was difficult to get the bulb aligned with the 4 straight lined holes and I didn\'t feel the the connection was real solid. However, I will be buying more units to convert my other T12 units. That pretty much sums it up. Highly recommended!!!

Mike Herod

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Mike
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Zapins
The Plant Whisperer


Registered: July 2004
Location: Harrogate, TN
Posts: 6403
Review Date: Fri November 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Array great reflectors and long lasting bulbs
Cons: Array none

absolutely loved the reflectors, totally worth buying and retrofitting any light even if you dont buy the kit from them. the kit however comes with easy to understand and assemble directions, and great ballasts which are hard to find for a good price. great products!

------------------------------
Plant problems? ---> www.deficiencyfinder.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Zapins's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
John N.

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 4130
Review Date: Mon October 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Lightout put, moderately priced
Cons: You have to build it yourself.

I got the 2x55 watt kit and 1x36 watt kit. They are easy to install and wire together, even for a child. Connect red to red, black to black, and you're good.

Building the enclosure for it can be time consuming, yet rewarding. But sometimes it comes out to the exact price of one of the enclosures sold at the www.ahsupply.com website. I would purchase the kits again, and also purchase an enclosure to go with it just to save me some of the effort.

These kits are well worth the price even if it comes out to be $30 more than a standard fixture. Comparative to the coralife I own, it has 100% more light output and is brighter. I won't buy a standard CF light ever again. Ahsupply wins my money hands down.

-John N.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.