Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Filters and filter media » Hang-on  · Next Product »

Hagen Aqua Clear
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 6673 Mon February 22, 2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $16.50 8.2




Description: Aqua Clear combines the largest volume of efficient filter media in individual inserts with the powerful water flows from the free floating impeller. Alternate replacement of the CycleGuard inserts ensures continuous biological removal of organic toxins can be achieved. The waterfall style output from the Aqua Clear filter agitates the surface of the water while creating beneficial currents throughout the entire volume of the aquarium. Both the surface agitation and the rotational currents bring more water molecules to the surface, in physical contact with the atmosphere, enabling them to release carbon dioxide and replenish oxygen more efficiently. In addition, the constantly moving water currents do not allow dead spots to occur in the aquarium, eliminating the possibility of thermal layering. Water input per hour is regulated by adjusting the patented flow adjustment mechanism, tailoring the flow rate to the aquarium's requirements. When the flow adjustment reduces input, the water returned to the aquarium is still equal to input, but the top grid in the filter basket circulates purified water back into the motor chamber so that the pump filters 150 gallons per hour even when adjusted to siphon less. Water may be filtered more than once without reducing the actual flow rate of the pump unit. The Aqua Clear 150 actively draws dirty aquarium water through the integrated siphon/strainer assembly into the pump impeller chamber. The flow diverter directs the powerful water current from the impeller chamber under the filter basket. The water is forced to move through the provided filter media and then returned purified to the aquarium. Aqua Clear Power Filters are designed to fully exploit the benefits of removing aquarium wastes both mechanically and biologically. The recommended CycleGuard filter media, when used and rotated as suggested, ensures that both mechanical removal of particulate matter and biological filtration of ammonia and nitrite combine for proven beneficial results to all aquarium inhabitants. Aqua Clear's unique CycleGuard system offers maximal amounts of time proven filter media to perform the assorted purification jobs required for optimal water conditions in the aquarium. CycleGuard inserts break the water stream into many ever-changing channels, passing through the entire length of media before being returned to the aquarium. The CycleGuard Media Step System provides extremely effective mechanical debris removal. The screen size for particles reduces with each step, trapping the large particles first and the fine ones deeper in the chamber. The Step 1 Foam traps larger particulate matter before it can clog and block other inserts. Step 2 Ultragrade Activated Carbon adsorbs liquefied wastes and color bodies and traps fine debris escaping from the foam. CycleGuard is unique--the inserts are designed to be replaced alternately, conserving slowly replicating beneficial bacteria and enhancing the natural reduction of ammonia and nitrite. All inserts provide valuable sites for bacterial colonization. The strong water flow ensures adequate oxygenation through the entire filter chamber volume. Biological filtration is continuous with the CycleGuard system. Bacterial populations left after regular maintenance seed all new media very rapidly, keeping water conditions stable and safer for fish.


Author
Post A Reply 
Rob G
Senior Member


Registered: October 2004
Posts: 178
Review Date: Thu February 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: consistent performance, adjustable flow rate, multiple options for use in its filter chamber, relatively inexpensive
Cons: the lid can rattle at times, the intake needs to be covered if keeping fry or small shrimp

I\'ve had an AquaClear mini for several years, and it continues to perform as it was designed to perform. I like the fact that it is an inexpensive filter option. For a small aquarium (
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Bert H
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Alachua, Fl
Posts: 5444
Review Date: Wed February 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Easy to use; keeps water clean.
Cons: Lid can set up a rattling noise

I have used this filter on 10 and 29 gal tanks. For each I have also used it as a CO2 reactor by injecting the gas into the intake. When the filter needs cleaning, this sometimes creates a noise with the gas, otherwise it worked great. I think it\'s a better product for the 10 gal than for the 29. The minis (on the 10 gals) have always been quiet. On the 29, a larger version of the filter, tended to rattle a fair amount. (I have since switched the 29 to a cannister.)

------------------------------
Bert H
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Bert H's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
pineapple
Senior Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 1035
Review Date: Mon March 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $18.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Silent, reliable, cost-effective
Cons: -

I have several AquaClear Mini filters. They\'re cheap, reliable, well-made, and last a long time. Use them on an active tank or have one or two in the box of spares in case you need to filter a quarantine tank, or a filter breaks down. I run the Mini on 10 US gallon aquariums and below.

Andrew Cribb
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Paul Higashikawa
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inconspicuous, econimical, efficient
Cons: Can get noisy, unstable over time

All of mine are Mini series, which have worked well for all my tanks ranging from 10-gal to 29-gal. Be sure to top the water level or the splash of the filter will be very noisy. Be sure to also periodically clean and maintain the filter as over time it will stop turning if something gets clogged or when you turn off the power and turn it back on. Other than these, I like this filter. It does what it\'s supposed to do in a planted tank, for me, that means keeping the water agitated and sucking up coarse debris.

------------------------------
Thou shalt change 1/3 water once a week
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Paul Higashikawa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
revfred

Registered: March 2005
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sun June 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: No cartridges needed, variety of media, simple, good value
Cons:

I have used AquaClear on smaller tanks 20 and down. The new AquaClears come packed with sponge, ceramic rings, and carbon. I don\'t use the carbon, but the addition of the ceramic rings adds to the filtration and additional growth areas for bacterial colonies.

I like the fact that the top layer can be used with plain old filter wool ... effective as a filter media and cheap enough to change weekly or as often as you like.

All the AquaClears that I have run very quietly. Simple to operate and the flow control is a nice addition.

I also use them as an adjunct to cannister filters on the larger tanks.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
raven_wilde
Senior Member


Registered: November 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 379
Review Date: Sun June 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lots of room for filter media customization
Cons: Larger models I've had rattled after about a year of use.

I would recommend these on smaller aquaria... I have a mini on my ten gal that's been running for about two and half years, no problems. I like that I can put whatever I want in the filter basket and have over the years been able to try all kinds of things... currently I'm using the sponge that came with it, some Efhi-Substrate from another filter, and some fine filter floss.

Problems arose with the larger models (the one rated for 50 or so gallons), after about a year they both started making this horrendous rattling. I tried replacing the impeller (I even hunted down the discontinued kind for the one older model that I had) but it didn't make a difference. I've come to realize that for this size aquarium one might as well get a canister filter.

For small tanks though, these are probably the better option among HOB filters.

------------------------------
Raven
---------------
Keeper of plants, shrimp & oddball monsters
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit raven_wilde's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Burks
Senior Member


Registered: May 2006
Location: Crestline, OH
Posts: 923
Review Date: Wed September 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lots of media, cheap price, good quality
Cons: Noisy at times, hard to find certain models/replacement media in certain areas.

I've been using an Aqua Clear 20 for a while now and love it. It does a good job at filtering and the flow can easily be adjusted by simply sliding the intake tube. For $14 it was probably the best buy I've made to date concerning filters. There is room for three different types of media. Aqua Clear has a decent selection of media types as well. I'm currently using two foam filters and the ceremic rings with success. My water is clear and clean.

The con to owning the mini 20 is finding replacement foam filters. If you don't feel like cutting your own up from the larger ones this can be frustrating. I did find that Petsmart has them online with free shipping. Other than that, I'd recommend one of these to anyone!

------------------------------
In the Toledo area? PM for details on a few LFS.

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Burks's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
cell
Member

Registered: March 2009
Location: Mtl, Canada
Posts: 87
Review Date: Sat May 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, sturdy, fast and easy to clean up, can use DIY media.
Cons: Disturb water surface

I have the Hagen Aquaclear 150 (aka 30). Very tough, quiet and effective. I like the fact that you can put virtually what you want in the media basket, as long as it fits.

Also, I like the fact that it doesn't take space into the tank compared to a internal filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Big Dog
Member


Registered: November 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 45
Review Date: Mon February 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sturdy, quiet,Price Right
Cons: none

I been using this product for several years now. When they first came out is when I started using them. I have all the sizes. They are easy to clean and have yet to ever have a motor burn up on me.
I love the 110 fillter. I have 2 on my 75 gallon planted tank. You will not be sorry if you bought one of these.

------------------------------
Help those in our hobby to exceed beyond there expectations :typing


Logistical Aquatic Engineer
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
aquasys
Junior Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mon February 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap price, different media options, easy to clean
Cons: can get noisy in time

I have been using for several years in different set ups from 75 gallon down to 20 gallon. I like it in smaller set ups because of the noise problem, otherwise performance is great. I like the easy maintenance compared to canisters.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.