Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Carbon dioxide equipment » Diffusers « Previous Product · Next Product »

Hagan CO2 Natural Plant System
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 10824 Sun February 18, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $15.50 7.7




Description: Designed to make your planted tank flourish. Produces CO2 through natural fermentation. Allows plants to thrive. Healthy plants naturally oxygenate and purify the aquatic environment. Creates improved fish condition and health. Includes fermentation canister, patented CO2 bubble counter diffuser, 3 activator and 3 stabilizer packets. Canister is hard plastic with a hang-on-tank design. Bubble counter is hard plastic with suction cups to attach inside aquarium. Requires sugar (not included) for fermentation process. For up to 20 gallons.


Author
Post A Reply 
scitz
Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Gettysburg. PA
Posts: 82
Review Date: Tue July 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Simple and easy to setup and use
Cons: Poor CO2 output. Ladder could be improved

I bought the this kit about 3 months ago after a few failed DIY soda bottles (couldn\'t get airtight seal). I was most surprised at how small the canister you fill with water and the \'Activator\' (yeast) and \'Stabilizer\' (Sodium Bicarbonate, as best as I can tell) and sugar into. Canister holds maybe .75-1.0 liters. I couldn\'t get much more than 1 bubble every 3-5 seconds and the mix only lasted about 2 weeks. The ladder is pretty big as well, about 9\" tall and 3\" wide.

In my 10g planted tank with many stem plants, I was hitting about 13-18ppm of CO2 measured about 6 hours after lights on. This, along with my current method of fert dosing (EI method) I was getting about 4\" verticle growth a week from my \'Sunset\' Hygro. With some pearling of most of my plants.

This kit does what its supposed to do. It is also very easy to setup and doesnt give you a DIY look. I think the size of the canister could be increased, and the design of the ladder could be tweaked a bit to make it more effective.

Is DIY better? depends. For someone not wanting to go through the hassle of going DIY, this kit is very nice. But for your money, DIY is a much better deal and produces more CO2. I\'d only recommend this kit for 10-20g tanks unless you were going to buy several of them.

------------------------------
"Some like their waters shallow
I like mine deep.. so very deep
Tied to the bottom,
with a noose 'round my feet"
- "Nonfiction" Black Crowes
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit scitz's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
aquaverde

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 243
Review Date: Mon July 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $11.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: cheap, easy
Cons: not for large tanks, high maintenance, some unreliability

I purchased the CO2 ladder only at a cost of about $11, which I used for about 2 years with soda-bottle DIY CO2. It works well for that application in small tanks, but I think for larger tanks that require higher bubble rates, it would balk. You will not get 100% dissolution, but the bubbles that leave are pretty small if you use the whole length of the ladder. There are issues with the ladder at times since the smallest bit of errant plant leaf or a snail on the track will upset the bubbles. It has to be cleaned periodically to avoid the bubbles from stalling on the track (depends on your water conditions as to how often), and it has to build up an inital \"coating\" before it will work when new and after a good cleaning. This can give you varying CO2 and subsequent algae problems, but for the most part, with some care, it works pretty well. Can be interesting to watch at times, if you like that sort of thing.

------------------------------
JEBrady
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sully

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Diffuses great!
Cons: big, and ugly at first

Great CO2 diffusor. You can replace the canister with a DIY pop bottle or use the small canister it comes with and replace the solution more often. The ladder works very well. The bubbles start large at first, but after a few days, the bubbles begin to become half the size, and flow up the ladder smoothly. I usually get between 12-17 bpm, with the DIY CO2 recipes. The appearance of the ladder is easily masked once the plants grow in, so no need to worry about that. I might actually use the ladder with pressurized b/c it works so well.

Sully
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Runawaypencil

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 43
Review Date: Mon April 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

it does just what it says. Worked great on my 20 gal lightly planted. i had lots of pearling on several of the stem plans. but not that i have a 29 gal am looking into getting a co2 injection and then redo my 20 gal and reset it on that the only bad thing is how often you have to remake your bottel.

------------------------------
29g still working on it
crossing fingers
and water changing
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ed seeley
Senior Member


Registered: December 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 1169
Review Date: Sat December 2, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very, very easy to set up. Works well as directed in the kit. Good CO2 production. Oh and cheap!
Cons: Not controllable, unless you mess with the mixture.

I have this kit operating in my class tank at school. The kids find it fascinating watching the bubbles dissolve into the water as they roll up the ladder. Small bubbles escape at the top but they are tiny.
The only problems i've had so far are some fish gasping in the morning, but now moved the power filter inlet up to ripple the water's surface more, and the kit not working for the first few days. This was because the school boiler broke so it was too cold. Once the temperature went up the kit started working.

------------------------------
Ed
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
qsaark

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun February 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Easy to assemble and install
Cons: Just as other DIY systems

For a real beginner (like me), it is a good system but soon (3-4 weeks depending on your observation, reading and understanding) you'll realize that you could have spent the amount more productively on some other thing related to your aquarium.

Trust me, you can make a better system (CO2 diffuser with a powerhead) with half as much as you'd pay for this product. Read this post and you'll know from where I am coming. http://www.barrreport.com/co2-aquati...i-reactor.html. Anyway, if you just want to start and dont want to put much time in this hobby, I'll say this system works well.

The only issue that annoyed me most with this product was a white slimy growth on the exit of the tube (from where the bubbles enter into the ladder). This wont go away and keep building to a level where you have to take the bubble counter/diffuser (B C/D) out and clean it. However, this thing will keep coming. One thing I did to reduce (if not eliminate) the buildup of the slimy growth was to add a simple DIY bubble counter right next to the reactor and plugging the tubing (incoming and outgoing) with some guaze. This simple trick controlled the problem to a great degree.

I have also taken a few measurements. The reactor hold 500 ml of water and almost 50 grams of sugar. That gives a 10% sucrose solution. And I guess the sachet contains brewers yeast instead of bakers yeast to achieve a prolonged CO2 production.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.