Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Lighting » Compact fluorescent  · Next Product »

Coralife Aqualight Compact Fluorescent Strip light
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 9386 Wed January 28, 2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $131.40 9.1




Description: Aqualight Compact Fluorescent Strip Lights offer reliable performance encased in a stylish yet durable anodized aluminum housing. Aqualights Double Strip Lights have twice the light output, silent built-in cooling fans, two on/off switches and two power cords for independent timer operation. Freshwater Aqualights have the same features as the Aqualight single and double strip light but utilize 6700░K compact fluorescent lamp(s), ideal for freshwater planted aquariums. 20" 96 watt Quad Tube Aqualight offers high-lighting conditions ideal for mini-reef aquariums. Attach optional Aqualight Mounting Legs to any Aqualight fixture for convenient aquarium access.

Image ęCoralife


Author
Post A Reply 
150EH
Junior Member


Registered: December 2004
Location: Churchton, MD.
Posts: 13
Review Date: Tue February 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $217.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sleek Design, Quiet Fans, Compact
Cons: Small Reflective Area

This is a good fixture at a good price. I have the 48\" fixture with 4 x 65 watt bulbs. The reflective area is smaller than the big fixtures like Current-USA Orbit series, but this fixture still produces plenty of light, the fans are quiet (not silent), and the low profile has an appealing look. If you want PC lighting that\'s attractive and can save you a couple of dollars, then the Coralife Aqualight series is worth concideration.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Paul Higashikawa
Senior Member


Registered: March 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Sat March 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Stream-lined look, economical, ready for the planted tank
Cons: Reflector not efficient; very narrow.

I would\'ve given this product a full 10 if not for its too-narrow reflector. That said, everything else was perfect. The bulb that came with the fixture was a 6700K, which worked great for planted tanks. The price of Coralife fixtures have also been dropping so it\'s a good investment.

------------------------------
Thou shalt change 1/3 water once a week
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Paul Higashikawa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
stcyrwm
Senior Member


Registered: April 2005
Posts: 404
Review Date: Thu August 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $117.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great price. Good quality fixture. Great open tank look.
Cons:

These are great lights. I have 2 of the 48\" 2x65 watt units with the legs. I love the legs which gives me open top tank which looks great and makes working in tank real easy. I have them over 55 g tanks so they are just over 2 wpg which allows me to have non co2 tanks at a good price. Plants seem to love them too. I plan on buying a 30\" unit to replace my 37 g Eclipse cover when I have the funds. They also have higher output lights for the CO2 folks. Another thing I liked is that it has no fan. I don\'t think I could make my own for a better price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
slickwillislim
Senior Member


Registered: October 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 908
Review Date: Wed March 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good value. Quality fixture. Well built
Cons: Bulb went out in 3 months, Hard to get legs on the first time

I would definetly recomend this fixture and would have to given it a 10 because my bulb died after only 3 months. Coralife who happens to be nearby accidently sent me two bulbs because I e-mailed a receipt and faxed them a receipt. So i ended up with an extra bulb and they only took a day after sending in my receipt before they where on my door step.

------------------------------



My Aquariums Blog
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit slickwillislim's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
redstrat

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 1082
Review Date: Tue April 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $203.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality Construction, Ready for planted tanks.
Cons:

I have the 48" dual PC set up which has 4 65W bulbs for a total of 260W of 6700K lighting. I think it looks pretty good, my fish glow under the lighting and the plants seem to love it. I would highly recomend this fixture, its ready to go right out of the box, quiet cooling fans which work pretty well. I've had mine running for approximately 1 month with no problems what so ever.

------------------------------
Take the Change a light Pledge

Anchor Hill

SWOAPE MEMBER
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
arcflame

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 12
Review Date: Tue May 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Attractive, well-made, inexpensive
Cons: Narrow reflector

I have a 2x65w 48" (single strip) 6700k on a 55g and a 2x96w 36" (double strip) 6700k on a 40g. The single doesn't have a fan, the double does. the fan's fairly quiet. The double has separate switches/cords for each of the lights, so they can be timed independently.

The reflectors are nowhere near as good as those from AHS, but you can get a well-built light for less than the DIY parts from AHS and you don't have to build a hood/enclosure.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
frankthetank

Registered: July 2004
Posts: 5
Review Date: Thu May 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Looks, Works Great
Cons: No mounting legs included, Need Lots of Watts!

I have had 3 of these the past few years: the first one I bought was a 65watt for my 25 gallon tall. After a year or two of mediocre results, I switched it out for the 130watt model and it has made a HUGE difference. My glosso now is growing out of control and bubbles constantly, and the other plants grew at a much greater (and somewhat tedious) rate. I also have a 192 watt over a 36" 65G tank, and at 3 WPG its a little low. Bottom line, spend the extra money for the bigger watts and get two switches if you can...then you can turn one bank off if needed.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
John N.

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 4130
Review Date: Mon October 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Easy to install, relatively inexpensive, and good light
Cons: Needs Mounting legs for best light spread

I gave this an 8 because compared to ahsupply.com lights Coralife fixtures aren't as bright. However the light is perfect for those who don't want to deal with the hassel of setting up one themselves.

Adjustable mounting legs will give you the most spread with the light, and will allow you to run the tank without a glass top. I would recommend this light prefer the convenience of the fixture, but no necessarily looking for the highest amount of light you can get out of a 65 watt bulb. If you want the most optimal use of your electricity and bulb, I suggest you check out ahsupply.

-John N.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rod
Member

Registered: August 2005
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 38
Review Date: Wed October 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

I've had my 36" for about 2years and have had no problems. My only complaint is that the leggs make the top kind of touchy to open.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
shauno
Member


Registered: December 2008
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Posts: 33
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy, strudy - no hassel fixture. Get the legs with it too
Cons: Reflector and wished the fixture also came in black (bronze-gold only)

I have a 30" x 96watt with the black legs over my 16 gallon bow front. I L-O-V-E it, and the results "grow" for themselves!

------------------------------
16 gallon bow front, 96watt quad 6700K PC, pressurized CO2 system, eco-complete substrate, zoo-med mini canister, aquaclear 150
______________________________

If you keep doing the same things, you can expect the same results... Challenge yourself every day and if your not making mistakes, your not trying hard enough!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.