Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Aquarium Products » Filters and filter media » Canister « Previous Product · Next Product »

Eheim Classic Canister Series
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 6238 Wed April 2, 2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $70.00 9.1




Description: Eheim guarantees constant water circulation, mechanical/biological filtration, and oxygen enrichment for a healthy aquarium. The flow and fully usable filter volume have been precisely matched with the proper filtering media to ensure optimum water quality. Compact, extremely quiet pump head. Double-disconnect valves for included for easy maintenance. Filter media container facilitates convenient filling and cleaning of filter media.

Models:
2213
2215
2217


Author
Post A Reply 
AaronT
Moderator


Registered: April 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5864
Review Date: Sat March 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $75.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: super silent, reliability, it\'s green :)
Cons: no priming mechanism

I have been running an Eheim classic 2215 on my 75 gallon for about 7 months now and have had no problems whatsoever. It is whisper quiet all of the time. I paid $75.00 for it shipping included on ebay. My only qualm with this filter is that it has no priming mechanism of any sort so you are basically forced to buy one or drink a shot of tank water, hence the 9 rating instead of a 10.

------------------------------
In the D.C., Maryland, or NOVA area? Come check out The Greater Washington Aquatic Plants Association! www.gwapa.org
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sully

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, good flow, easy setup + maintence
Cons: initial priming, green intake and outtake tubes

I have a 2213 on a 29 gallon. Flow is very nice, no dead spots. I purchased this off ebay for $70 shipped new. No problems priming, except initially, where you have to suck on the tube, but after that, the double tap connecters make re-priming unnecessary by holding the siphon during cleaning. Its been up and running 6+ months, never had to suck on a tube again. Another plus, absolutely dead silent (literally). No computer type hum noise, no nothing. I would purchase this again, but I would consider the Filstar XP1 (which I also have) if I'm money concerned, and don't mind a slight quieter computer type hum. Eheim 2213 then XP1,

Sully
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
beaucon

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 12
Review Date: Sat March 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet, good flow
Cons: Tubes not long enough

I recently upgraded to this filter and I am really happy with it. After having a HOB for 15 years, I must say that this is a delight. It is easy to operate once you get it figured out. I only have two minor complaints. First, the tubing that ships with this until is only long enough for the most standard installation. I have my tank mounted on a set of drawers, which is very convenient. Therefore I wanted to put the filter in the cabnet to the right of the tank. I just barely...barely had enough tubing. My other complain is with the documentation that comes with the filter. I sucks. I still have one little peice that I don't know what do do with. That being said, the unit is simple, and sems well built. Best of all, I ran my co2 tuber into the pressure line just before it enters the spray bar, which I mounted at the bottom of the tank with the outlet holes facing downward. After adjust the tube just a little off horizontal, this thing is spitting out micro bubbles that look like they came from a Guiness.

One last comment. I could not even consider sucking on the line to prime this baby. I just took the big suction tube of my Python tank cleaning rig so I just had the tube end. Next, I hooked the python up to the faucet as if I were refilling the tank. Then I connected the python tube to the inlet tube with the pump turned off and ran the water in until it came out the other tube. I turned the pump on and she ran like a top.

------------------------------
37 Gallon Glass
Eheim 2213
Dupla UG Cable Heater
DIY CO2 Running into spray bar at bottom of tank
1 55 watt 1 65 watt HO T-5 in a modified AllGlass Hood
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Andrew-amano-wannabe

Registered: June 2005
Posts: 29
Review Date: Tue August 1, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Array
Cons: Array

Well i have 3 of these types of filter and they are great, however all 3 of mine have developed a rattle, in fact everyone i know who has this type of filter has developeda rattle in theirs.
I also have the eheim ecco which i think is a poor design, it just sits in my shed unused.

This cannister filter on the other hand is the most simple design, and the best, you are guarenteed that the water will pass through all of your filter media before reaching the tank. They are also very cheap compared with the rest of the eheim range. I have just started a large tank with two 2217's??? cant remember if thats the right model number, one is mechanical and the other biological.
The flow output is incredible.
I would rate it a 9 based purely on the rattle. They are a very reliable unit that just keep on going, i have had mine for 4 years now. They will probably last longer than the glass in your tank. I would never move away from the eheim brand.
Hope this very randomly written review helps.


--------------------------------------
180 litre aquarium with
4 30watt tubes
Eheim 2213
Sera CO2 kit with PH controller

240Litre aquarium
2 35watt tubes
2 Eheim cannister filters
Dennerle CO2 system, to be upgraded to Dupla.

RO unit for both tanks
Sera water conditioners- Looking at ADA products though! Any advice guys?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
John N.

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 4130
Review Date: Tue October 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, easy to prime and start up
Cons: Pipes are green, and the assembly is difficult at first

I have a Eheim 2211 on a 10 gallon. It works very well, and is very quiet. I am very pleased with the flow rate, and silent operation. Some noise may be encountered when first installing or cleaning out the media. After a day or two, the media bubbles out and everything becomes quiet. I recommend this filter as well as the other Eheim Canister filters.

-John N.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dwhite645
Senior Member


Registered: January 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 204
Review Date: Mon November 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $65.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Quiet, good price, quick inline disconnect valves
Cons: poor construction - mine cracked, needed more length of hose

Overall, I'd give the Eheim basic cannisters a 7/10 rating. Overall, it was a good buy; price, quietness, ease of use, excellent filtration, nice add on accesories.
The bad; mine developed a crack in the head on the output pipe where the tube connects to and locks on via the locking threaded ring. The plastic head casing is manufactured by molding two pieces - left/right. Mine split right on the mold line causing a big gushing leak. Was able to temporarily fix it with teflon tape, but still leaked a little. Kept the entire unit in a bucket just in case.
Will not buy a basic canister again - moving up to an Eheim Professional II

------------------------------
Darrell White
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
spdskr
Member


Registered: April 2006
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 67
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Silent, Reliable, Design
Cons: None

I have used a 2213 on a 29g for over two years with no problems. Filter is so quiet I only know it is running by the current in the tank. I recommend only purchasing models with the newer double tap connectors, as no one wants to suck up tank water after cleaning the filter.

------------------------------
29g - 130W, Eheim 2213, Flourite, pressurized CO2
5.5g - 36W, Zoo Med 501, Flourite, Excel
2.5g - 9W, no filter, no substrate, java moss/shrimp tank
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
woody21

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 16
Review Date: Wed April 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: cheap , reliable and efficient
Cons: none

been running a 2213 for 7 years and not had a fault or a single leak.

replaced the ceramic shaft when i broke it accidentally...spares are availiable online and my lfs carys a lot of eheim spares in stock
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.