Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 20H, high tech, and now, a 10 gallon which I would like to make according to NPT protocols. I have only cursorily read through Ecology, but am fascinated to make the attempt at an entirely self-sustaining system, in distinction from my 20H. I am very new to the hobby, but have researched quite a bit in my 2 months in. Some early questions.

I plan on using Miracle Gro organic choice for substrate. I can measure them, but is there any reason not to just go with standard, LFS black gravel as a top gravel?

I plan to drive off some NH4 via boiling, or baking. Is there any reason not to "seed" bacteria via Seachem Stability, the 7-day regimen, as directed, to mitigate the "chaos" of fresh submersion? Beyond, anyone with experience as to whether this be effective?

I plan on using the 20H's original kit light/hood for lighting, which is a 15W cool white light. I plan on utilizing some floating flora and a good many emergent plants (e.g., dwarf lily). It isn't possible for me to locate the tank facing a window, much less a south-facing window. Is this adequate light?

Fascinating. Thanks to Ms. Walstad for her book, and for moderating this sub-forum.

Thanks,

Paul

·
Super Moderator
2,630 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

The LFS gravel should be fine; its the soil that really matters.

I wouldn't boil anything. You'll just kill the bacteria. Just remember that the soil itself (especially Organic Choice) is probably filled with bacteria of all kinds. This would include beneficial nitrifiers, denitrifiers, etc. Adding the Seachem additive probably wouldn't hurt anything, but I don't think its necessary.