Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone I am fairly new to the world of aquariums, i got my first tank in September of last year and started my first twenty gallon planted tank not to long ago. My dad had done saltwater aquariums when he was younger and just recently decided to take up his old hobby. so he asked me to help him design a 125g tank for his office. at first i was like "holy crap thats awesome i get to set up an amazing tank!" and then reality hit i didn't know that much about planted tanks. i mean sure i have my 20 gallon but it isn't really high tech. so i spent the past month learning everything i can about planted aquariums.

1x 125g all glass tank
1x 29g all glass tank (for water changes and quarantine)
2x eheim 2217 classic canister filters
2x 36" current USA sundial lights (4 10000k and 4 freshwater bulbs)
1x 18w coralife UV sterilizer
1x Milwaukee regulator 5lbs Co2 tank
1x diy co2 diffuser
150lbs charcoal soil master select
2x 250 watt heaters

i went to home depot last night and bought i ton of plumbing supplies. (by the way self check out sucks when you have hundreds of small plumbing parts.)

so that's most of the gear. of course the lights are on the tank.

last night was just supposed to be a shopping trip but my dad and i got a little carried away and started to set up the plumbing for the two canisters.

the filter inputs are hanging from a self that we mounted on the top of the cabinet.

the two filter intake pipes connect into one piece of 1 1/4" PVC pipe using a tee coupler.

then it connects into one of the overflows on the bottom of the tank. we put a valve on the PVC pipe just in case something went terribly wrong.

Last night we decided that we didn't have nearly enough supplies so we made another trip back to the Home Depot here's what we got.