Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to the fish tank world, and also more importantly brand new to the planted tank club. Ok I wanted a fish tank for a while and a friend of mine had one he wanted to get rid of so thats how it all started. I never liked plastic plants and so I jumped right into live plants without getting any information first. Well now that my plants are dying I have started reading tons and tons of info.

Any advice or guidance would GREATLY be appreciated.

Let me start off on what I have currently.

40 gal tank
20watt Coralife Nutri Grow Blub
Heater(pleanty powerful enough not a problem so far)
Penguin Bio-Wheel 330
2-2.5 inches of brown aquarium gravel
Various plants (not to concerned if I loose them in the conversion process)
Various fish (1 puffer, 6 neons, 4 chiclids, 1 plecostomus)

What I am planning on getting now that I have learned
(Please correct me if I am making a mistake)

2 bags of Flourite and used as a base with current gravel top
AHS supply two 2x36 watt bulbs with their enclosure

and I will probably need a CO2 system of some sort any recomendations in that area as well. I want a compressed system and I don't want to fuss with the yeast.

Thanks for any suggestions guys :D

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Heres some pictures to show you guys what I have so far

The Whole Tank

The Right Side

The Left Side

·
Registered
109 Posts
Not enough light. You need a lot more lighting. You've got something like .5 watts per gallon there. Increase it to 1.5 wpg and you could grow a few low light plants. More light, more choices.

·
Registered
1,710 Posts