Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at a planted tank. The Driftwood was bought from FishandTurtleJunkie, the rocks are from ch3fb0yrdee and the anubias nana petite and C.wendetii are from Bert H.
The substrate is aquariumplants.com own, and I also have their substrate fert tabs. I have a coralife 30" CF 65w 6700k light. I am using a HOB aquaclear 50 filter. I am not using CO2 but i am using excel for my carbon source and I am also using flourish 2 times a week.

Floura:
Hygro Angustifolia
Ludwigia Repens
Java fern Narrow Leaf
Cryptocoryne Wendetii
Cryptocoryne Willesii
Anubias Nana Petite

Also have Anubias nana, Wisteria, Dwarf Sag, and Java moss to be added soon.

No fish in there yet. Many snails though. Any suggestions on fish would be welcome

Hope you enjoy. Suggestions welcome
Thanks

·
Registered
166 Posts
Very nice start for your first try! I like the curve of the driftwood on the right side of the picture. I also like how clean the background is and how it goes well with the substrate and rocks. Very monochromatic without being the very same color. Different shades of gray and black. That makes the plant colors pop.

My suggestion would be to add fish! [smilie=l: Seriously, I'd consider trying to find a focal plant that's different from the rest in color and/or leaf texture. Something that pops. It would look good in the cleared area on the mid/left side. Then add a foreground that intertwines from that area, around the center, and then back into the right side opening. Keep it curvy. It'll tie it all together, and if it's kept short enough, it won't cover your nice hardscaping.