Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at keeping a nano. I had to leave my big tank at home when I went to school this year, so I'm trying a small tank to save space in my room. Here's what I have so far:

5.5 gal tank w/cover, light, heater, filter
ADA Amazonia substrate

Fish I want to put in:
Betta
galaxy rasboras
kuhli loaches

My light provides 3.27 W/gal, so I was thinking of using Hemianthus callitrichoides as foreground, but I don't know what to use for mid- and background plants. I want something that complements the look of Hemianthus callitrichoides, so I was thinking something along the line of a grass-like plant. I also can't decide if I want to use driftwood like my tank at home, or if I'd like to try rocks this time. What do y'all think?

·
Registered
179 Posts
I really like the contrast of Blyxa Japonica and HC. Then find a nice stem plant that you like and add a few stems.(Rotala Wallichi might look nice growing between the Blyxa.) This isn't really original, but it looks great. As for wood vs. rock, that's up to you.
My vote goes to wood, with a small patch of fissidens fontanus tied to it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
My 5.5 gallons (3.1 wpg) have a lot of plants, but my favorite that seems to grow really well in it is hygro 'sunset'. With the lighting I have I get nice pink leaves with beautiful light-veined patterns on them. You might consider adding a few of those.

About your selected fish though, I wouldn't recommend keeping kuhli loaches in a 5 gallon tank. The recommended minimum for them is usually 20 gallons. I would suggest sticking to a school of rasboras only. Most bettas will not do well with other fish, and with only 5 gallons to work with galaxy rasboras (or a small school of neon tetras) would be best. My 5.5 gallons each have only one betta in them, which is also an option.

Good luck with your new tank! :)

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #4