Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at planted tanks so I would like some critiques on this scape (if it can be considered one!). I was thinking about puttingin a "river" coming out from the middle of the center DW. Let me know what you guys think. Iw ill post an after trim pic tonight but I did trim the l. aromatica so that it now has a slope from the left edge down to only a couple of inches where the ludwigia starts.

Here it is:

·
Premium Member
3,373 Posts
I think the tank has alot of potentional, but right now the focal point is dead center and it doesn't really look like the plants are supporting it. I think you need to move the driftwood to the left off-center and then build your midground off that so there's a good transition to all the nice stems you have in there to the foreground.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
I agree with houseofcards, and I'd pull the sword (in the back right corner) over some and just ahead of the background. This would create a secondary focal point and you can also build around that.

Aside from any critique, the plants look great and it's a wonderful start for your fisrt attempt. I've re-arranged my scape 4 times before coming up with something I like and draws my attention throughout the scape. Keep playing with different ideas and it will come to you. These long, thin tanks are hard to scape because they lack good opportunity for depth.

·
Premium Member
8,540 Posts
You might want to try scooching the log to the left so that it is a little off cent. Take your crypts that are to the left and plant them in that center curve of your log.

Your murdannia would look great to the right barely in front of the L. aromatica. (keep growing it and triming until you get a nice showy stand of it :D)