Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
noob here - sorry for my ignorance - i have a well established 55 gallon tank - but my lighting is woefully inadequate - i do grow water sprite albeit slowly - hahahahaahaha - anyway - i need a good lighting fixture for my setup that wont break the bank - any suggestions ? i really want to grow java fern and water sprite - many years ago - i once had tremendous success with java fern - and water sprite - my tank has 2 marineland hang on the back waterfall type filters - 2 large plecos , 4 pictus cats , and 2 angelfish - i use the water sprite as my guide to water quality - so - any suggestions ? right now all i have is a 40 watt grow light on it - i probably need at least 200 watts - right ? thanks !

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i would like it to be a complete hood unit - and i was thinking of the extra wattage for any future plants i might want to try

·
Registered
581 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i have a 2 year old girl - so i must be able to secure it - but i'll have a look at those - seems like i researched this once before and there was a unit that took 4 ) 54 watt bulbs out there for like $200 - once i get these kids under control - i really want a larger tank - but i'll just play with what i have for now - but yeah - i can get glass cut or build something if i need to - that kid is driving me crazy - but ya know - you dont have to drive - its a very short walk - hahahahahahaahah

·
Registered
581 Posts
LOL...understandable.

Here, pet-o-rama glass tops run about $12 each. Two would probably cover your aquarium (1 on each side of the brace).

Or you can get a canopy and hang shop lights in there since they would be hidden out of sight

·
Registered
118 Posts