Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 20 of 129 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am new to the planted tank community, but not new to the hobby. I first started with reef tanks in 2007. I have not had a fish tank of any kind now for several years, mainly due to being in college and IMO you need a more stable location to have a successful tank, esp a reef tank.

I am an "adult" now with my own house and all, thus creating the perfect opportunity to have fish tanks again! At first, I was going to build a completely custom 60g cube reef tank, but the fiancee shot that down since it was a wee bit pricey. We have settled (for now ;)) on a 55g planted tank, much cheaper.

It will, of course, be an "el natural" as that seems to be the best way (imo) to do a planted tank, not to mention easiest! The build will progress somewhat slowly, so don't expect to see this tank up and running so soon.

I think these pictues will show up

·
Banned
2,631 Posts
Here is some A+ advice on your soil with sand cap:
I don't worry about where I place plants, but I obviously try to plant them where I think they will stay, so I recommend you try to make a plan of your tank if you haven't already. But, if I plant a plant in an area I later on want to move it, I trim it to the ground and replant the trimmed stem.

The sand being so white, will mostly have a good amount of GSA growth on it at first, this eventually dies off.

Anyway there's 2 pieces of junk you may be able to use lol

Reactions: mbkemp

·
Registered
27 Posts
I want to tag on to what Dutch said if I can. I use black diamond over dirt. Any breach of the cap is very noticeable even using black.

The good news is you have a built in ammonia source to cycle. Your plants will love it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Banned
2,631 Posts
I want to tag on to what Dutch said if I can. I use black diamond over dirt. Any breach of the cap is very noticeable even using black.