Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm running a planted African Rift Lake Cichlid tank in which I have a very hard time keeping up with fish waste-derived nitrogenous waste even though I run some pretty serious filtration - just the way things go with Africans' eating habits. I find that, when I test for N (using a LaMotte NO3 kit), my tank maintains a fairly high level of NO3 (~5 ppm) even without KNO3 fertilization. Given that, I dose very little KNO3 as it does not seem necessary to maintain good N levels, but my plants still show signs of NO3 deficiency. I'm fairly new to planted tanks (about 6 months experience now) and will readily admit that I'm not a chemistry whiz. Given my tested levels of nitrates from fish waste alone, why am I still seeing noticeable signs of NO3 deficiency? Am I wrong in not supplementing with KNO3 at recommended levels? Is there a difference between fish waste-derived N and potassium nitrate-supplemented N? I am very curious. Thanks :)

·
Registered
113 Posts
nitrates

Hi Travis

In a planted tank the preferred level is higher than 5ppm we generally aim for 10 to 20 ppm of NO3. As far as the difference in nitrates I believe nitrate produced by fish waste is organic and plants cant take up organic NO3.
With respect to dosing there may be more than just nitrates you may need to dose. A good read is the Perpetual Preservation System PPS. Take a look at that and theres usually plenty of guys on the chat that can help you out with it and you can bounce your ideas and concerns there.

Good luck and ask away its the only way to figure it out.

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·