Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a newbie, but i thought i might pass on some of my experience in the hope it may make your first tank that much easier to establish.
I had fish only tanks for 15 years and then made the transition to planted
tanks 2 years ago. Why? I was sick of the constant maintenance in my fish only tanks, esp. the weekly water changes in my 6*2*2 ft tank.

My goal was to set up a planted tank in the above 180gal tank. I wanted to grow a variety of plant species with minimal maintenance.

I have a high tec tank with minimal gadgetry. The end result is luscious growth, weekly pruning to avoid a jungle and 10% monthly water changes and top ups as required from evaporation.

This is my set up.

2inches laterite as base. 2in gravel on top. Lots of fast growing plants initially for a few months
followed by addition of slower growing plants.

Fertilisation: I tried Tom Barr's EI dosing It worked well. The only problem is i had to do 50% weekly water changes. I switched to PPS Pro. i now dose once a day and as stated only do 10% water changes monthly. As far as i can see. the growth rate and type of plants i can grow has not changed from one dosing regime to the other. I like the latter due to its low maintenance without sacrificing plant growth.

CO2. Pressurised system. I don't bother with reactors any more. I had an Aquamedic 1000. Sure it worked well, but too much upkeep.So i threw it out. I now feed my CO2 directly into the intake of my submerged powerhead.So much simpler. I get a fine mist . So how much CO2 do i have? Don't know and don't care. My bubble rate is 3-4bps, i get lots of pearling . My plants grow phenomenally and my fish aren't at the surface. I only have CO2 on when lights go on.

Lights. OK a little high tec here. Two 4ft T5's on for 12 hrs a day at 0.7watts/gallon, supplemented with two 150watt metal halides (2WPG) for 4hrs per day only!