Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Acrylic fabrication is something that I really enjoy. I am by no means an expert, but I have worked with it quite a bit. I have made calcium reactors, protein skimmers, overflows and sumps. This is an image of my calcium reactor that I later turned into a canister filter/CO2 reactor combination.

Anyway, following in the tradition of Dennis' great woodworking thread, if you have any questions or need help building things out of acrylic, please post them here. I and others will try to help. I'll post my work here as well. I'm currently working on a protein skimmer.

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It actually is really easy once you get the hang of it. Just need a few good tools. Specifically, a good router, router table and a table saw.

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
Art, great idea. Thanks:)

Could you maybe give a few quick points or basinc info about working with acrylic. Maybe a quick little cheat sheet of the tools and different materials, joinery methods, etc. I have been meaning to do this for hte woodworking thread but life is not being kind lately:(

Thanks fopr starting this.

·
Registered
676 Posts
Is there any structural reason to not make an acrylic tanks with five flat pieces as you would with glass? You only see acrylic tanks that have the front and sides formed from a single bent piece, which adds a lot of complexity for the home DIYer.

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Dennis, I'll do that. Little later today though.

Bharada, most acrylic aquariums are made from 5 flat peices. There are a number of acrylic manufacturers that bend a piece of acrylic to create curved edges of bow fronts. I don't recommend that a hobbyist do that as it requires large ovens to achieve a bend in large 1/2 inch thick acrylic.