Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, I'm relatively new to APC and really have found this to be a fantastic resource. As such, I felt compelled to tell you all a little about the recent trials and tribulations about my recent ADA 120 build in this photo journal in the hopes that the information herein might be informative.
I've been keeping fish for about 5-6 years and doing a bit of aquatic gardening, but I've recently had the itch to go all out and put together a top of the line planted aquarium. Before I purchased, like so many of you, I did a great deal of research and encountered some helpful and not-so-helpful characters along the way. I would give my highest praise to Jeff of ADG and Orlando of GLA. I've purchased equipment from both of them and found both to be extremely helpful and informative as well as first-rate businessmen.
I live in a large, open loft space, and as such, wanted a planted aquarium as an eye-catching room-divider. I decided on the ADA 120-P as the tank that would make the room pop. I had a friend build the aquarium stand for <$500 (because I didn't want to spend $1500 on an ADA stand and didn't like anything else out there) but really went all out on the remainder of the equipment. Here's the list:

-Lighting: Tek Light Elite T5 HO 5 x 54 W hanging fixture with a DIY conduit stand
-CO2: 10 lb. cylinder with regulator, pH controller, solenoid valve, diffuser; purchased from GLA
-Filtration: Eheim 2217 with ADA inflow/outflows
-Substrate: Tourmaline BC (Base); Power Sand (Mid); Aquasoil Amazonia (Top)

So, I moved into my new space and eagerly set up my new aquarium: