Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys i am new to the planted aquarium. I jus bought 2 bags of florite. From the other planted aquarium web site i understand that all planted tank need to have a minimum base fert (i.e JBL) of abt 1 or 2 cm thick.

My question is :
1) Do flourite or Eco-complete need a base fert?
2) Wat if i never put base fert, can i enhance the nutrient level by putting those liquid fert or fert tablet in the substrates? will it helps?

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
Please do not cross post in multiple forums.

Flourite and eco complete can both be used as is. You do not need to use a first layer substrate like laterite. There are some stuff you can add that will help: mulm from another tank, a thin layer of peat, root tabs.
Liquid ferts in the substrate will just end up in the water column.

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Tony,

Out of interest, what plant tabs are in use (Jobe Sticks I know of - but others?). Do they all have more or less the same effect, are there some special focus chemsitry with some makes? If undisturbed, presumably there is no risk in leakage of tab material into the water column. If disturbed, is the resulting leak into the water likely to be highly problematic in terms of algae propogation? Would you reserve use to certain plants? Picking your brains here...

Andrew Cribb

·
Banned
2,069 Posts
Jobes have had associated green water and other algae blooms when pulled up or not placed down deep enough when replanting etc.

If they made them without NH4/urea, they'd be fine for tanks.
Many use Flourish tabs.

Plants will not use substrate nutrients generally unless there are none in the water column.

the substrate is typicalkly a back in case you forget to dose the water column, or you can use the substrate as the main source but make sure you re-enrich it regularly and there's less way of knowing when the nutrients are low.

Regards,
Tom Barr

·
Registered
2,988 Posts