Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone this is my first post and i'm looking for help! Surprise! I'm planning to set up a low tech set up, it's a four foot rena tank with two T8 arcadia bulbs, fresh and original. I'm gonna use tetra substrate topped with gravel. Any suggestions for plants suited for this set up? And where is it best to get them, mail order, ebay or lfs? As you might have guessed i'm new to the planted set up although i've kept fish for about 20 years on and off. Any help or tips would be great!:D

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
Hey, first off, welcome to apc! Let me suggest a little reading first - these 2 for starters:
http://www.aquatic-plants.org/articles/basics/pages/index.html
http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/...ums/14684-new-tank-setup-guide-parts-1-a.html

Also check out the 'el natural' forum here for another way to run your tank. Using in the neighborhood of 1.5 - 1.75 wpg (watts per gallon) of lighting should help to maintain it fairly low tech.

As far as plants, there's lots of good stuff in the for sale forum here. Also check out some of the sponsors here which also sell plants. If you get them from the lfs, just be aware that often times many plants are sold which are NOT true aquatics. These will only serve to frustrate you.

Read lots and ask away! :)

Again, welcome aboard!

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Another Monkey! Welcome abaord!

Definitely read up on the links that Bert H posted. A few easy/low-tech plants to consider starting with would be Java Fern, any type of aquatic moss, anubias, hornwort, anacharis, and sword plants. There are others, but that's all I can think of at the moment.

-Dave

·
Registered
654 Posts
Steviemonkey, welcome to the forum. :partyman: It might be better if you can provide us how big your tank is. Do you have co2 and what kind of light you are using.

Dave, stop monkeying around. :rofl:

·
Registered
930 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts