Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This started 2 weeks ago with on single spot above the eye. Now it has turned into 5 or so above each eye. They are raised and are following the same arch pattern above both eyes.

I've been treating off & on (more on than off, crazy work schedule)the last 2 weeks with Pimafix, but it has gotten no better. Actually more spots have shown up.

She is still active & eating like a pig. She actually guarding a corner of the tank, getting ready to lay eggs. She is doing this jerking thing with her fins, but I don't know if that is from the Pimafix or egg laying.

Can any one tell me what it is & how to treat it?

·
Registered
100 Posts
I'm no expert but maybe the body is changing naturally..especially if that pattern is so symetrical and if she's is getting ready to lay eggs. The dots above the eyes also seem to mimick the color pattern she already has. From the picture it looks like she has natural white dots on her fins as well...

just a guess.

second picture looks like "Frida" the fish :cool:

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
They look a little like the start of Hexamita, also know as Hole in the Head disease or Head and Lateral Line Erosion. If you do a search on the web you'll find loads of stuff about it and some better pictures to compare your fish to.

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ed... I have done research. All the hole in the head I've seen does not look like what she has. I did find on one other forum someone having the same problem with all his Angels back in 2006. That person said in advance stages it continues underneath the eye. He to had no idea what it was or how to treat neither did the responders.

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
What are you feeding your little prego ?
She eats well. I feed a varied diet:Frozen(mysis,brine,bloodworms etc), flake, freeze dried, shrimp pellets & cichlid gold.

·
Registered