Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have an apple snail that I tried to keep in a tiny aquarium without filter but I have lost all my plants during that time.

I have a 2,5 g tank which I am scared that it will destroy all the plants so I don't move it there, the plants seem so vulnerable and thin.
Water Plant Green Botany Pet supply

I will build a 20 g low tech tank this week and I want to add my apple snail there.

Which plants can survive do you think? Do you have any experiences with apple snail? I want some kind of carpeting plants but I am scared that it will dig off monte carlo or dwarf hairgrass.

I have put 2 different plants with the apple snail last week and it has destroyed the red leaved one but one of them seems fine. It seems like I can use this one.

Plant Botany Terrestrial plant Sunlight Vegetation

·
Registered
7 gal bowl
48 Posts
I'm a complete newbie but I'm pretty sure the problem isn't the snail. As far as I know the snail only eats the dying plants...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm a complete newbie but I'm pretty sure the problem isn't the snail. As far as I know the snail only eats the dying plants...
I am not sure of that with my apple snail. It tears the stem the next day I put a new plant. Or digs off some of them eventually

·
Registered
2,754 Posts
There are snails they eat plants. I don't see your apple snail so I can't identify it. I only see the harmless ramshorn snail in the first photo.

·
Super Moderator
5,962 Posts
Some species called "apple snails" will eat any kind of plant. This site should help you identify which species you have and whether it is a live plant eater.

·
Registered
2,754 Posts
That is a plant-friendly mystery snail/apple snail. They can uproot newly planted stems though but only by accident.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·