Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I want the basics for a 55G.
Let me know some easy plants, some easy techniques, and if you could, use simple language as I am new :D.
I don't care about some tech terms, thats how I will learn.
Basically, I want to know what I need to have plants
Such as, do I need those different chemicals?
Do I need a CO2 unit?
What kind of substrate do plants favor?
Where does everyone get all those interesting shape wood pieces?
What is the plant that makes your aquarium look like its growing grass?(cause I really like the look of it!)
I am a newbie to plants, but not to general aquariums and fish
Thanks!!!!
Oh
And I know this is probably such a repeated thread that most of you just want to move one
But
I really need help
I truly have no idea what I am looking at when I read through these forums

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Welcome, cougar1331puma!

The best advice I got when I first started out was to "read, read, and read some more". The other best advice was "be patient".

Take your time to find the information you need. The threads Bert linked are full of great info to start with. You'll probably be plagued with algae at some point, so read about algae as well. ;)

So, have you thought about what fish you might want to keep? Have you considered any particular plants along with the "grass"? Check out the Plant Finder (top left of the page in a gold menu-bar) for some good ideas.

-Dave

·
Registered
221 Posts
Focus your research of this first step on the foundation, substrate. You can add all or none of the other gizmos later.

Don't let it intimidate you, read in the substrate threads and make up your own mind. Or, you may quite possibly let your wallet make up your mind.

·
Registered
4,116 Posts
Best overall advice - be patient. Let your tank develop naturally. Don't try to force things.