Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the planted tank world. I am going to set up my 45 gallon planted tank with glosso for the carpet and byxa for the background. I used aquasoil and powersand as the substrate. My tank is equipped with 260W lighting system, pressurized CO2, and fluval 405 filter. I intend to add some algae cleaning fish and shrimps.

What kind of fish AND shrimps would be the most suitable for that role? How many should I add into my 45 gallon tank?

·
Registered
105 Posts
You can add a large group of Ottos (Maybe like 12), and some Red Cherry Shrimp (Start off with like 12 as well, but they will probably give birth to more).

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
Red-Tailed Garra (about 6) and some Amano Shrimp (about eight). You will be set! The Garra's are a bit hard to find; let me know if you want them and I'll talk to some of my buddies to see if I can get them for you. Garra's eat absolutely all types of algae, including black beard algae which ottos and cherries won't touch.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Red-Tailed Garra (about 6) and some Amano Shrimp (about eight). You will be set! The Garra's are a bit hard to find; let me know if you want them and I'll talk to some of my buddies to see if I can get them for you. Garra's eat absolutely all types of algae, including black beard algae which ottos and cherries won't touch.
I am curious about the Red-Tailed Garra. It seems to be tough to find any infomation about them on google. Is there anyone have any info such as how big they are, lifespan, care info, etc.?

·
Registered
733 Posts
And don't forget the TRUE Siamese Algae Eaters. They're excellent and an important addition to any tank.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Would the group of otocinlus (maybe 5 of them) alone be able to handle the algae well enough in 45 gallon tank?

·
Registered
311 Posts