Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,710 Posts
I am a newbie and the first two books I bought were "Aquarium Fish" by Ulrich Schliewen and "Aquarium Plants Manual" by Ines Scheurmann. Both have lots of beautiful photographs of plants and fish and also some good beginner information. The next book I bought was recommended to me by Steve Pituch, "Ecology of The Planted Aquaria" by Dianna Walstad. Its a little more technical but still a wonderful book so far and it came highly recommended.

·
Registered
119 Posts
One book I bought was Encyclopedia of Aquarium Plants by Peter Hiscock. I bought it more for the plants but there is some good basic information in it as well.

·
Registered
201 Posts
None. Look at the pretty pictures but ignore the culture sections.

I'm serious, almost everything is either out-of-date/touch or plain wrong (substrate heating is required, nitrate causes algae, etc)... The best all around culture section is in Oriental Aquarium's Handbook, this is available thru the AGA. Walstad's book is a good primer for those interested in soils.

We've come so far in the last 5 years or so in our understanding, most of what we advocate here on the boards isn't in print, all major fish mags with the exception of Aquarium Fish Monthly (Karen Randell writes for this) are hopelessly out of date and written for children - "You want CO2? Good for you! CO2 is a _gas_, which is different from a _liquid_..." *ugh* (FAMA column). Richard Sexton writes for TFH, he advocated a complete breakdown and bleach if hair algae appears!!! Even Kasselmann doesn't mention proper nitrogen levels in water column, macro addition, etc...

Jeff

·
Registered
40 Posts
I have to agree with Jeff. A lot of the info in the books is woefully inadequate and often misleading.