Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I am getting a Cryptocoryne hudoroi and would like some advice how to grow and possibly get new plants. Is layer of TetraComplete substrate+layer of boiled peat+layer of 1-2mm sand and 15cm water ok? I have no experience of emerge cultivating and was wondering if this set up would do..?
Any point using DIY co2 fertilization?
I am prepared to work to get best possible result, all advice greatly appreciated!
My flat is quite warm, it will be at least 25-26 celsius, if that matters.

Thanks

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
According to Kasselmann, C. hudoroi is easy to grow submersed and not very well suited for emersed growth. Apparently it is not particularly demanding when submersed. Medium hard to soft water is recommended along with gravel or sand with a little loam added. It is said to propagate readily by runners.

Where are you getting your C. hudoroi from?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, thanks for the advice. I will get just one plant from a friend in Japan.
I hope the plant will develop those runners!
Is this plant available in US or Europe generally? I have not seen it on any wholesalers lists.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
C. hudrori is available through FishVet.com for $30.00, and is currently not in stock. FishVet is the only retailer in this country carrying it that I know about. I assume it is more available in Europe, but I don't know any details.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I got the plants. So actually i got green and brown form of hudoroi. I put them in low water (about 10cm), slight current, no fish and there is 1-3mm grain sand, some peat and commercial fertilizer in the bottom + i added a little liquid fertilizer.
Green hudoroi is just fine. A new leaf is coming and the (only 2) old leaves are fine.