Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is one of my favorite aquarium plants.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Another close-up photo

It is not the Cabomba aquatica which I've been seeking for many years.

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
Very very delicate looking... Nice pics.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
Jeez! You guys in Taiwan get all the neat plants! You have some interesting plants in the background of your Hygrophila pictures, and I have been wondering what they were!

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Please notice the doubtful cabmba specie on the right side. Some of Japanese books take it as C.aquatica mistakenly, while it is no more than a variety of C.caroliniana (I believe the left one with wider foliage is the original C.caroliniana ). Compared to C.australis, C.aquatica is greenish and has larger diameter of fragment of foliage. If this discrimination made by European aquarists is correct, I would like to know how to get it.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
There is a rare variety of C.caroliniana which has not been seen for many years. Its name is C.caroliniana var.tortifolia because it grows tortile foliage just like that of corkscrew vallisneria . This photo is remade from the book published by T.F.H. Has anyone of you seen it before in your market?

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I would say yes because it matches what I describe about the specie. The reason why we can not find it in our market is that our aquarium plants farmers didn't think it could be welcome in our aquarium shops.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
HeyPK said:
Jeez! You guys in Taiwan get all the neat plants! You have some interesting plants in the background of your Hygrophila pictures, and I have been wondering what they were!