Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner at planted tanks and I have a few questions that I'm sure someone can answer for me.
First, here's my tank specs, as per the template:

1. Tank water volume: 20H

2. Tank lighting (type, watts per gallong, etc.): 65W PC, 6700K

3. Tank filtration: Penguin HOB filter, w/ carbon cartridge replaced with filter sponge...I keep the water level topped up

4. Tank substrate: 75% fluorite, 25% gravel

5. Plants: (not sure of all of the species' exact names)
Anubias barteri var. coffefolia
Echinodorus bleheri
Limnophila sessiliflora
Cabomba caroliniana(?) see below
Lilaeopsis brasiliensis

6. Fish:
(1) young SAE
(3) sunset honey gouramis

7. Test kits used (brand and type):
AP NO3, GH, KH, pH (still haven't succeeded at getting one of the few LFSers in my town to stock any phosphate kit; I don't put much stock in these kits, but I don't have the option of getting better ones locally)
Nitrate values almost always drop to very low levels if I don't dose it for a week or so.
GH is ~5-6, KH is ~2 out of the tap. Baking soda used to raise it to ~4. pH is ~7.0.

8. Fertilization regimen (include products used):
Flourish line for now. I dose macros and regular Flourish every other day, and Flourish Excel daily to partially make up for inadequate CO2.

9. Do you CO2?
DIY, with a poor reactor/diffuser. Will be working on improving this soon to get more CO2 into the water.

10. Water change routine:
40% weekly.

11. How long has the tank been set up?
~3 months
12. Describe your question or problem in detail: