Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a reasonable digital camera and was hoping to get some opinions. It will be mostly used for my tanks and wildlife pictures, but some of people as well.

Any thoughts on Pentax cameras? I'm thinking about a Optio 30, 3.2 megapixel camera with many features. Here are the specs of the camera Pentax Optio 30

Another option is the Canon A75 but that is about $50 more expensive. Money is a major limitation unfortunately.

edit: guess I should that I am a very unexperienced photographer and looking for an easy-to-use camera.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Re: Camera Advice Please

A few words of advice...

1. Spot metering with exposure locking
2. good macro capabilities
3. full manual mode, including manual focus
4. custom white balancing / on the fly white balance
5. offshoe flashes are
are absolute requirements for decent aquarium photography. Save your money and wait until you can afford these options. You cannot get good fish/tanks shots without the features I mentioned without a ton of luck, and even then its sometimes impossible. Taking photos thru a reflective piece of glass into water turns out to be one of the most challenging photographs to take. Don't bother with an intermediate camera with plans to trade up, I ended up wasting a ton of money like this :?

Jeff

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Jay I'm in Canada so my numbers and availability are probably different from yours in the U.S. After all costs I was hoping to be under $300 Canadian.

JLudwig I don't know what all those features are but I think the Pentax has most if not all. It has spot metering, manual focus, custom white balancing and good macro mode. Don't know what exposure locking and offshoe flashes are. I've read that the Pentax doesn't have manual shutter speed settings though.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Capt. said: