Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought the Canon 420EX speedlite for my Powershot G2 (which is the flash they recommend for that camera), but I can't seem to get it to work correctly.

When it's mounted on the camera it washes the photos out terribly (read almost pure white) even though I have the settings where they are supposed to be according to the book.
When I use it as a slave flash it works great.

I've tried cleaning the contacts, but that didn't help either.

I really hate to have this semi-expensive piece of equipment sitting here doing nothing....

Any ideas?
Thanks!

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply Bigfoot.

Sometimes it's nice to have a bounce flash, or whatever in certain situations.

Anyone have any ideas why it is doing what it is?

PS, obviously this is a "bump".... ;-)

·
Registered
353 Posts
I'm no expert, but I will give this one a shot (since I too have a 420ex and I kinda sorta got it figured out) First things first, what are you shooting? your aquarium? Are you talking about glare off the glass? If this is the case, you will need to change the angle of light coming from the flash in a way it does not reflect straight back at the camera. This could be done by shooting the tank at an angle, bouncing the flash off a card, or putting the flash on an arm or bracket, coupled with an off shoe flash cord to the side or above the camera. When using my flash, I will always shoot with an arm because it allows me to square up right in front of the glass, giving me a distortion free shot. (shooting tanks at an angle will screw with the focus and give off all sorts of distortion)
I could go on, but before I do, can you give some background on how you are using the flash? ie shooting modes, flash settings, aperture/ shutterspeed etc.

·
Registered
4,116 Posts
Jan,