Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I need some help. I'm new to planted tanks, just converting a ten gallon to a low light, low tech setup (Steve Hampton method) except I don't have a nutrient rich substrate, just gravel that has been in the tank for over a year with a lot of mulm. The tank has been set up for about a month now with lots of Java Moss, a couple of Anubias nana petite, some crypt wendii, a sword of some type, and some java fern. Most of the plants seem to be doing well except the fern. They're attached to driftwood and I keep having to prune off leaves that look like

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y204/JamWatch/a23acfc6.jpg

with black holes in the leaves. It seems like the older leaves are affected more than the younger ones. Is there something I can do without having to dose ferts more frequently? This is supposed to be an low maintenance tank.

10 Gallon
15 watt flourescent light with some sunlight
Regular gravel - 2-3 inches
Dosing 2 ml of TMG every week for the last 2 weeks
5 Black Neons, 2 Otos, 1 Black Skirt, 1 Female Betta, 3 Panda Cories, 2 Amano Shrimps
Photoperiod 10 hours
Water Parameters - pretty stable for the last month
Ammonia, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 10
Very hard water (don't remember the exact degrees)
pH 8.0 - 8.2

Thanks!

·
Registered
251 Posts
Looks like a potassium deficiency to me. TMG has potassium, so I guess you need more. Put in 3mL instead of 2mL and see what happens. If you get algae, back off on the TMG again and look into getting some potassium sulfate from gregwatson.com or something.

Cheryl

·
Registered
1,946 Posts
Looks almost normal to me.

Ever tried leaving those leaves on there? All the leaves that I have that look like that always puts out little plantletts and when it becomes full the leaf falls off with new plants attatched.

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts