Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a nice big rock covered with riccia for sale at my lfs. They are asking $19.95 which is fine with me because it's about what I'd pay online after shipping, it's a pretty nice sized rock, and I like that I get to see how healthy it is before I buy it.

I know it's easy enough to make, but I'm new to this and don't have as much time as I'd like so I don't mind paying a bit more to have it done for me.

I have 65 watts over a 29, co2 is arriving next week, ferts arrive next week, currently dosing with excel.

lfs told me that I didn't have enough light for the riccia even with co2.

I found a light identical to what I already have on craigslist for $35 so I'm going to pick that up and that will put me at 130 watts over a 29 gallon.

I should be able to grow anything and everything right?

What do I need to know about the riccia? Will it eventually rot away? Do I just trim it down to keep it going?

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
8,540 Posts
Yes with that much light you can grow anything. Be consistent with your ferts and your CO2. You'll be amazed at the difference! Welcome to the high tech club! :D

All you have to do with Riccia is to trim the top off, like you would mow your lawn. With a rock I find it's easier to take it out of the tank and cut it. That way you don't get all those little pieces stuck in all your plants all over the tank. Wherever a piece lands it will begin to grow.

·
Super Moderator
7,436 Posts