Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I'm a newbie on most anything with planted tanks. I just bought my first CO2 diffuser about 2 weeks ago and now its not working. Its a glass diffuser with I think a ceramic insert. I soaked it in bleach over night (read online that that's how you clean them), but it still is plugged. The weird thing is that it allows water through (albeit gradually) but air will only go in it, not out. :( I don't know how to clean it further or if the place in China that I ordered it from is just no good. Please help me!!
Scouter

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hey scouter why do you need to clean it when you just brought it brand new? You're only suppose to clean it when it's dirty, but anyways how are you injecting the co2 into the diffsuer? is it a DIY or pressurize co2? Easiest way to test the diffuser is to get a air pump and stick it in to see if bubbles comes out. GOOD LUCK

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I tried cleaning it because it got plugged and stopped putting out CO2. I use DIY CO2 and when I took off the diffuser, CO2 shot out of the tube-so there was plenty of pressure. I checked it with an air pump before and after I cleaned it and it still doesn't work. I don't know why/ how it got plugged up- frankly I'm a little frustrated that I have to deal with this after only using it for 2 weeks. I figured I'd have to clean it once a month at most.
Scouter

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
DIY often builds up a yeast 'snot', especially if you don't use a trap. If that's what you've got, it will be a little harder to remove. :( Off the top of my head, I would try soaking it in vinegar for a while and seeing if that helps any. Good luck.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #6