Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I'm a newbie on most anything with planted tanks. I just bought my first CO2 diffuser about 2 weeks ago and now its not working. Its a glass diffuser with I think a ceramic insert. I soaked it in bleach over night (read online that that's how you clean them), but it still is plugged. The weird thing is that it allows water through (albeit gradually) but air will only go in it, not out. :( I don't know how to clean it further or if the place in China that I ordered it from is just no good. Please help me!!
Scouter

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tried cleaning it because it got plugged and stopped putting out CO2. I use DIY CO2 and when I took off the diffuser, CO2 shot out of the tube-so there was plenty of pressure. I checked it with an air pump before and after I cleaned it and it still doesn't work. I don't know why/ how it got plugged up- frankly I'm a little frustrated that I have to deal with this after only using it for 2 weeks. I figured I'd have to clean it once a month at most.
Scouter

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok, so I put it in vinegar and left it for a few hours, but still no bubbles. I tried blowing it out as per the seller's recommendation- with my air compressor. I didn't get it to work until I went up to 40psi and it still won't work until then. I don't know what to do- Should I tell the seller that I want a new one? or should I just get a new one from a different seller and blacklist this one? Is there a different remedy that I could use to try and clean it?
Thanks,
Scouter

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·