Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm newbie here. I just wanna share my trip in collectin aquatic plants.
It was in Salatiga, Central Java, Indonesia. I found them in large pond that there was so much people swimming around.

I found Limnophila sessiliflora submerge and emersed.
Just take a look here.....::wink:

I'm sorry for the quality, hehe. It was taken by my camera phone.... :D

Hopefully to get nice comments from U guys.
Thx alot.....!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I found java moss, ludwigia .sp, and some alternantheras, but I couldn't take some pictures because it was rainy. So I got my motorbike and went home rapidly. hehehe :D

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
I found java moss,
Literally Java moss :) Seemingly trivial, but that's interesting. The name "Java Moss" has a quite confusing history in the aquarium hobby, explained i.a. in an article in the German journal DATZ:
Christel Kasselmann (2007): Verwirrung um den Namen Javamoos. Datz 8/2007.
Prof. Benito C. Tan from Singapore has made known that the common "Java Moss" in the aquarium hobby, mostly called Vesicularia dubyana, is actually Taxiphyllum barbieri.
But many years ago hobbyists in Europe cultivated also true Vesicularia dubyana as "Java moss", and this moss came from Java in the 1930s.
As far as I've read, botanists didn't find the species Taxiphyllum barbieri in Indonesia, but in Vietnam only.

Did You collect some of the moss that You have found?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Did You collect some of the moss that You have found?
Yes, I collected full of huge plastic bag. I just wonder what species it is....but I read some journals and books it belongs to java moss. Maybe U can give me a nice info about this plant. :)

Moss in my tank....!

Close up

I think U can identify these pictures...hehehe. Sorry for the quality I just took it by camera phone.
Thx a lot....:D

·
Premium Member