Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
A few years ago I dug up some remainders od an old cypress stump/roots, in which I grew some bromeliads. The wood, ancient, as it appears, is still in a fair shape and I wonder if there is any valid reason why i shouldn't use it in my tank?

Another question: does anybody have any experience with natural cork panels attached (aq.silicon?) to the back inside the tank? Any remarks on the subject, please?

Thanks. Edward

( Still optimistic that before year's end my 180 won't be filled with air anymore....)

·
Registered
341 Posts
If the cypress roots are old, then there shouldn't be any problems. Cypress wood is good stuff, lasts a long time underwater! Even living cypress trees grow in water just fine, no root rot. IMHO the only problem would be if you cut a fresh root off and it leaked nutrients that were still in it.

I have never used cork panels before, but a few people have. Hopefully someone will chime in! Cork is used in vivariums and dart frog tanks with drip walls a lot, I don't know how long it lasts though, probably less time completely submerged, but I would be surprised if it broke down before 3 years...:confused:

If your tank is still empty, you might want to throw the stump in and fill 'er up! Run a filter with some activated carbon and replace often, that way you can begin working on sinking the stump, and get a feel for how much tannins it puts off. This should work out for the best, by the time you are ready to set up your aquarium the stump will already have leached off quite a few tannins, and you will be that much closer to having a clear tank instead of tea colored water. The stump will be that much more closer to sinking as well, if it is hard headed and wants to float everywhere!

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
No problem with using cypress, except that I have found it very difficult to waterlog and have it sink on its own.

·
Registered