Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
926 Posts
Hello,
I'm very new to all this. I'm not sure what you mean by distilled water for your drop checker and why that's important. Could you explain please? I'm assuming from your discussion that you can change the KH of this by adding bicarb of soda. KH is the water hardness right?! So it will be very different depending where you live in the counrty (I'm in the UK).

Sorry new to website and didn't realise there was more after 1st page!!!! Maybe there are answers in the other 19 pages!!!! Sorry if I have interupted your discussion on something else.....can I delete an entry and how?

Thanks
Claire :confused:
You use distilled water to make your 4dKH solution. If you use plain water, pH could be off as a result of something other than the bicarbonate.

PS - for you "real chemists" 4dKH corresponds to 0.06648mM Na Bicarbonate (if my math is right).

·
Registered
926 Posts
Nice - I've been playing w/ some different membranes that are more commonly available (no luck yet).

Please post some part numbers or specs for the membranes you've got working!

·
Registered
926 Posts
I wonder if some used clean-room type garment scraps would work, they're made of Tyvek but there's enough of a texture to them that sealing could be an issue...

·
Registered
926 Posts
The gas permeable nature of the membrane is not such as to allow the rapid forceful pushing of air through it (maybe if you made an evening of it...).

Re paper idea... Oh well, it was worth a try. As soon as I get the membrane, I'll make the mini-autosampler vial version and get a pic up here.

I suspect it will work out pretty well and I already have the 4dKh/Indicator solution prepared...