Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at a DIY, so bear with me.
I saw the Hydor inline heater and needed to solve my heating issues in this way, problem is I had two perfectly good Ebo-Jager 150W heaters that I did not want to replace. I did a little bit of research and could not find where anyone has actually done this, lots of ideas and I do borrow from these (give credit where credit is due). I will be running my Eheim 2217 upstream from the heater modules.

So here is my solution to fix this problem.

The materials used are as follows
2" clear pvc pipe
2" clear pvc Tee
2"x1 1/4" pvc socket flush bushing
1" pvc compression union (cut in half)

The compression union was cut in half and the outside diameter was machined down to fit the 1 1/4" socket

The new compression fitting has a rubber boot that fits around the hard plastic piece on top of the heater, not the glass (no heat transfer and no glass breaking from the compression fit)

Here is how it looks with the heater installed

When completed, a second heater will be installed in an identical setup and a 2" U fitting (part of a p-trap) at the bottom will connect the two heaters. The inlet and outlet Tee will get 2" x 3/4"Threaded fittings so that a threaded to barbed adapter can be used to connect the filter hose to.

If anyone has any comments on how to improve on this design, please let me know. Any input would be great.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im sorry I will take a pic of the top tonight
If you look at the first pic, there is a hole that the heater goes into. A black rubber ring goes around the top of the heater and the compression nut tightens the rubber piece to form a seal.

like I said I'll take a pic tonight.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
as promised here is a pic of the top heater connection

·
Registered
438 Posts