Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have been finding these little things in my tank ever since I got it 5 months ago. Does anyone know what it is? It looks kind've like a popcorn kernel. They've ranged in size from :cool: this smiley to as big as a pea. Will they grow? is it anything plant related? I know that it hasn't come from any plants in my tank because all I have is a java fern right now, and I've been seeing these since before I got it.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Where did you get your gravel from? They could be bulblets from plants that hitch-hiked with the gravel.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Where did you get your gravel from? They could be bulblets from plants that hitch-hiked with the gravel.
I bought the tank, including gravel from a guy on craigslist. I have to assume that the thing came with the gravel. It's just that I've had the tank for about 4 months and none of the things are growing. I am wondering if I should take them out or leave them because maybe they'll do something.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
If they aren't doing anything, I'd take them out as they may be rotting. It could be bulblets from a non-aquatic plant.

If any of them feel firm (not mushy and rotted) you could do a cold treatment (to simulate dormant conditions) for about 4 weeks in your fridge. After that, plant half in a pot or your yard and the other half in your aqaurium. See which ones start sprouting roots after a week or two and you may get an idea of what it is. (Of coarse, this may not work either.)

·
Super Moderator
7,436 Posts
they're alien life forms. but from what my alien friend told me, they're safe. If you feed them after midnight, then all bets are off. lol:rolleyes: